Call me Russ L

End-Of-Year-Count 2015: Screen

Posted in Films by Russ L on 1 January, 2016

I don’t know if my experience is general or not, but it seems that it’s easy to think that you don’t watch many telly programmes until you try to write them down.

Whole Serieseseses of Telly Programmes:

Obviously there have been countless one-off episodes of “The Simpsons” and “Come Dine With Me”and whatever-have-you, as well as documentaries and bits on Youtube etc. This is just a list of things where I’ve watched a whole series. Alphabetical, as obviously they aren’t generally watched all in one go and so a chronological list isn’t really possible. (EDIT: That’s not true at all, is it? It’s only like the book list, I could just have based it on when I finished them. Nevertheless, I didn’t keep a record of that and I can’t remember).

“Aqua Teen Hunger Force” series 4-6
“Archer” series 6
“Better Call Saul”
“Bob’s Burgers” series 5
“Doctor Who” (new) series 9
“Flight Of The Conchords” series 1 (re-watch) and 2
“Game Of Thrones” series 4 (re-watch) and 5
“Parks And Recreation” series 7
“The Book Group” series 1 (re-watch) and 2
“The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy” (re-watch)
“The Muppet Show” (i.e. the 70s one) series 1 (re-watch)
“The Ultimate Fighter” series 22
“Veep” series 3 and 4
“Wolf Hall”
“You, Me And The Apocalypse”

I’m currently in the middle of “Dickensian”, “The Muppets” (new one), and series two of “The Muppet Show” (old one).

Fillums watched at home:

Contrary bleeder that I am, I think that going to the pictures is a horrible way to watch films.

The usual (well, usual in my mind) questions about “is it a film or a feature-length-tellyplay-type-thing” occur, and I answer them with the usual (well, usual in my mind) taxonomical methodology of “classify them according to whatever I happened to be thinking about at the time”.

“O Brother, Where Art Thou?” (re-watch)
“Syriana” (re-watch)
“Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Dr Seuss’ The Lorax”
“Foxcatcher”
“Local Hero”
“Alice In Wonderland” (1966 one)
“An Inspector Calls” (2015 one)
“Head”
“Waltz With Bashir” (re-watch)
“Lebanon” (re-watch)
“My Dad Is Scrooge”
“The Jungle Book” (re-watch)
“The End Of The Tour”
“The Muppet Christmas Carol” (re-watch)

Film-related events:

On 23/3/15 I went to see the “Shizzles And Giggles” programme of short films, “The World Of Internet Cats” and “Lil’ Bub & Friends” at The Old Joint Stock Theatre as part of The Flatpack Film Festival. A couple of bizarre short films were shown prior to the Richard Dawson gig at The Bond mentioned in my gig list. The film involved was a very big part of “The Translation Of Shadows” mentioned in the theatre list. 31/10/15 saw the 1925 “Phantom Of The Opera” at Birmingham Town Hall with live organ from Nigel Ogden.

Testify.

