Call me Russ L

Charity for a disadvantaged area

Posted in Modern Living by Russ L on 11 January, 2015

(Via Swizzle, and it says volumes about me that word of this had to float off to Oxfordshire before coming back, given that it concerns the constituency I live in. I’m dozy, we all know that).

It would seem that one Rob Buckman wishes to stand as a parliamentary candidate in the general election, in some obscure little backwater known as The Endz Warley. It also seems that he needs to raise a monkey for the deposit.

You can go and donate over at the Kickstarter page. There’s a video, too.

I’ve chipped in. I would’ve done anyway, but having been in hospital a few days ago has somewhat reinforced my liking of political parties who don’t want to privatise the NHS. I wouldn’t have actually thought it possible for my feelings about that to get any stronger, but here we are.

Having said that, it’s hard to imagine him unseating John Spellar. I can’t even promise a vote for him – a spike in UKIP support around here seems really, really far from inconceivable. If I have to once again brace myself and vote for that thing posing as the Labour party in order to keep them out, then I will.

One last point: I know his hair is annoying, but you shouldn’t let that put you off. And I don’t often say that about annoying hair.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stevietoobad said, on 11 January, 2015 at 5:09 pm

    The only thing I find annoying about the hair is that he has a lot more than me! I hope you are not becoming anti-wavy-hair in your old age. A pair of curling tongs for your birthday might cure that :-)

  2. Russ L said, on 11 January, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Wavy hair isn’t a problem. I’ve always been anti-floppy hair, though.


Testify.

