Call me Russ L

Placeholder concerning place

Posted in Music, Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 8 December, 2012

In the absence of any proper posts (I was doing well for a little while there, wasn’t I?) I was going to point out that this term ‘B-Town’ is in no way a new one, as people around the internets seem to be suggesting. I had thought that Juice Aleem used it in his 2009 song Birmingham 6, but after actually listening to it for the first time in ages I realise that he says “It’s Birmingham, it’s Brum-Town/come down and spend pounds” rather than “B-Town” as I’d thought I’d recalled.

I’d been remembering that line as saying “B-Town” for years. Does that mean I was the first to think the phrase and as such responsible for all this nonsense on a psychic level? Dang.

I still haven’t gotten around to listening to most of those bands. It is a shame in circumstances like this when you end up finding music irritating before you’ve even heard it. Troumaca are ace, of course, I’ll vouch for them.

(EDIT: In fact, it looks like I did actually use the term myself on the 20th of August this year. Hmmmm…)

(EDIT EDIT: A cursory little search of this here blog shows that I have in fact been using it for a couple of years. Dang, son).

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daron said, on 12 December, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Just wait until you start referring to Bearwood as ‘Da Wood’. It’s a slippery slope. The whole B-Town thing is pretty ridiculous but there are some decent bands out there and I guess it gives the likes of NME (lord help us all) something to hype. We’ve been here before of course. Remember their ‘Best Midlands’ feature…http://www.flickr.com/photos/peteashton/306908055/

  2. Russ L said, on 12 December, 2012 at 5:09 pm

    Never mind all that. If I actually came up with this first then someone should be paying me.

  3. The Baron said, on 17 December, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Too true. Get one of them No Win No Fee johnnies on the case…

  4. Russ L said, on 18 December, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    In the name of fairness, I should point out that I do actually think that referring to Birmingham as “B-Town” is about 381 times less silly than referring to Digbeth as “Eastside” (as well as “Southside” and “North-North-Westside” and “Topside” and whatever other ridiculous ones are being pushed of late).


Testify.

