Call me Russ L

I have seen it suggested…

Posted in Modern Living by Russ L on 26 November, 2011

…. that a puppy might be an answer existential crises, presumably due to the fact that the needs of a dog will assure you that your own existence is necessary for it to continue. It’s not a Cartesian perspective, but I’d never deny that there are different ways to look at the world.

While I appreciate that I do have a liking for “be a link in the chain” types of thought, remember that from a cat’s perspective you simply do not exist until the point where you can do something for the cat. You are, basically, moving furniture prior to that point. This strikes me as a helpful way of envisioning a more scientific perspective. Your own ego matters not; the things that will or will not occur are important. I admit that we do need to envision a specific cat as God to read it precisely like this, but that if we go by what we observe then that doesn’t seem completely unreasonable.

Of course I’m a modernist at heart and I’ll begin to wonder about points of view and so forth. Seriously, though, do you expect me to argue with a cat?

Going back to the start of this, anyway – it’s not a cat/dog thing to start with. I’ve met at least one terrier who occupies the cat-coded position, and I wouldn’t argue with her. She’s never bitten a human, but her woofing is fierce. I don’t want to be sent off by her.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pete Ashton (@peteashton) said, on 26 November, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    I think Fi just felt it would be nice to stroke and cuddle. But yes, indeed, and so forth.

  2. Russ L said, on 26 November, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Yeeeeeah you see what happened there was all such as that I saw a comment on someone else’s blog post that led to a thought firing off from something I’d been thinking about anyway, and so I made a post on my own blog that mentioned no names. This was silly.

    Given the time that I posted it, it was entirely and completely obvious what I may have been referring to (solely) in the first sentence, even though I wasn’t intending to respond to it directly in any way.

    Nevertheless, if any unintentional “sorry” is required, I offer it freely. Any sorry-causing statements genuinely weren’t intended in that sort of way.

    I also apologise in terms of looking at it from the perspective of the imaginary one looked at by our imaginary cat, which could take a lot longer explaining why I’m wrong. But yeah… sorry. It’s suddenly occuring to me what sort of thing I might have been saying without intending to say.

    Most of all, though, for self-preservation reasons I should apologise for pretty much anything opposed by the specific dog I was speaking of.

    I don’t want to be sent off by her. Many postmen are still in therapy.

  3. Pete Ashton (@peteashton) said, on 26 November, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    The whole thing amused me greatly. I don’t think Fi has given it a second thought since her initial bemusement when I showed her.

  4. Pete Ashton (@peteashton) said, on 26 November, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Also, I think, in the trade, we call this an “implicit link”. FYI and that.

  5. Russ L said, on 27 November, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Looking back, it strikes very strongly how surreal my post and subsequent comment were.

    I have been violently sick between then and now. Perhaps the first sympton of the virus was “typing some absolute complete nonsense”.


Testify.

