Call me Russ L

It lives, it posts

Posted in Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 17 June, 2011

A touch less than halfway into the year and (outside of a single more-plug-than-post bit of gubbins about “The Cleansing Of Constance Brown”) I’ve written about nothing that I’ve done. There were some notes for a catch-up post knocking around very early on, but it was a good while ago that I solemnly decided that I couldn’t be bothered. I can’t be bothered with much at all, nowadays.

The really, really sad thing is that I feel bad about this. For myself. If I felt bad for the reader then I could easily just write it off as misplaced arrogance.

Never mind, though, here is where we be. There were some gigs (the list, as ever, is here. Not as many as I used to go to in the past, but darling I’m old nowadays), some theatre (which is good, compared to my feeble ‘pretty much no theatre’ of last year), Crufts, and other stuff. I’ve decided that The Barton’s Arms is probably my favourite pub. I also decided that The Jam House is probably my least favourite thing under any system of ontology. Y’know, worse than neutron bombs and spandex and being eaten by a shark and so on. Even worse than the old version of the Academy 2 (former worst gig venue evaaar).

It may be worth noting that I saw Carina Round for the twentieth time, marking ten years of being a fan of her (if the gig had been nine days earlier, it would have been exactly ten years since I first saw her).

Ten years. Like I said: old.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ben said, on 20 June, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    I’ve not been to the Barton’s Arms for ages – but it’s a quality pub for sure. Real ale and Thai food – can’t go wrong. It’s in a bit of a dodgy area, though – my friend was once on a bus that stopped outside and someone fired a couple of bullets into the back of it…

  2. Russ L said, on 21 June, 2011 at 6:28 am

    I ‘once’ saw a rainbow near there. I contend that it’s not dodgy at all, but rather a place where pots of gold are freely available to all.

    In all seriousness, it is a little bit rough (although nowhere near as bad as many would make it out to be), but for me simple awkwardness is the larger location-based problem. I always get off the bus and pop in (if I’ve got anything even remotely close to approaching enough time) if I’m going from Walsall (work) to Brum, but otherwise I’d have to be specifically going there to be anywhere near it.

    It is right on top of The Drum, of course, and I’ve never been to anything there. That might be a good two-fer trip at some point in the future.

    I should probably do a post dedicated to the place. Maybe I should do a series of “Great Pubs Of Our Times”.

  3. Daron said, on 28 June, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Okay…where’s this Great Pubs Of Our Times feature eh? The Big Bulls ‘ead is a shoe in purely for their orgasmic steak and kidney pie. Yes. Orgasmic. Then again I’d had a pint or two of cider by then…

    I can relate to your ‘not being bothered’ thing but I ended up not being bothered about that too, so I got bothered…life’s a confusing bugger eh? See you at Mostly Jazz for a bit of Booker T?

  4. Russ L said, on 28 June, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    I’ve never tried the food in The Big Bulls Head, although I have heard astonishing things about their enormous mixed grill. I haven’t been in at all for ages, in fact – I nearly did last night prior to the Battles gig at The Institute, but in the end I opted for The Anchor instead.

    You hit the nail on the head though. I can’t be bothered, but that bothers me. I can never quite work out why (and then that bothers me, too).

    Sadly I won’t be at Mostly Jazz, and I do mean sadly. I really would liked to have seen Booker T, but I’m already all booked to go to That London to see “Peter Grimes” at The Royal Opera House. I’ve decided that I’d definitely like to see more operations taking place.


Testify.

