Call me Russ L

It’s easier than flying under

Posted in Music by Russ L on 9 June, 2010

Hooray, hooray I say, for Soweto Kinch’s annual Flyover Show, and the ace urban larks it provides under Hockley flyover every time out. This year (on the 29th of May) it was rainy but that’s OK. There’s an A-Road for a roof.

Highlights there were and highlights I shall mention: Michaela The Poet – Probably my favourite act of the day with her two hilarious poems, although I wish we’d had more (that’s still the main trouble with this thing, nobody gets a decent-length set. That can be my excuse as to why I haven’t got much to say here, at least); Eska – My favourite musical act of the day, playing extremely high energy jazz that incorporated both British and African-ish folksy inflections; Ms Dynamite (-ee-hee) (that seems to be obligatory) – Getting back to her garage roots nowadays, and presumably due for critical re-appraisal now that she’s past the first two parts of that common mainstream-opinion trajectory of Best Thing Ever/Worst Thing Ever/Quite Good; Janet Kay – Oh you do know her, the lovers rock lady of “Foolish Games” fame. She’s younger than I expected (it’s not important, it was just surprising), and can still get the high notes (and how highly high these high notes are); Speech DeBelle – I’ll always have sympathy for Speechy D after the large amount of openly racist bullspit that followed her winning the Mercury Music prize. It’s a happy co-incidence that I enjoy her jazzy neurotic-hop too; Roxxxann – Thick, murky swampy bass topped with extremely confident rapping (also: I cannot help but love someone who spends quite so long moaning about their rival MC in a two song set. Also also: excellent hair); Breakin’ – There was some genuinely fantastic and fun-to-watch breakdancing going on just before all the action on the main stage started. The little ‘uns having a go were adorable; Special Brew from the off-license over the road – I got as drunk as any man has ever been.

Again again again next one please.

(The Flyover Show website has tonnes of photos and audio and video and such from the actual day; other than that, though, there seem to be surprisingly few folk discussing it on the interwebnets. I’ve come across this, this and this, but I thought there’d be loads).

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Baron said, on 13 June, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Yep, I’m surprised there ain’t more coverage of this event on the interweb too. Odd. Eska was my top pick of the day too. Loved her. Add a steady supply of Dragon Stout from the local offie and you can’t go far wrong eh? Soweto for Mayor of Brum that’s what I say.

  2. Russ L said, on 13 June, 2010 at 11:15 am

    That liccle off-license/paper shop is wonderfully placed.

    Sorry I didn’t really see the two of you much but I was more-or-less too pissed to speak English after a while anyway.

  3. The Baron said, on 14 June, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Yes, it’s in the perfect spot. Reasonably priced too. I think the Dragon Stout was about £1.20 a bottle. Bargain. No worries, that’s what days like this are for!


Testify.

