Call me Russ L

Folk for free (and free for folk, just me for you and you for me alone…)

Posted in Music by Russ L on 21 May, 2010

There were free bands at the ICC on the afternoon of the 15th as part of the English Originals Folk Festival, and I do like a bit of freeness. I arrived in time to see only the last half-a-song from Abie Budgen and her drum-carrying pal, but I liked that – an eccentrically English version of a big bluegrass hoe-down, perhaps.

The really very gorgeous indeed Deborah Hodgson was on next with her band, playing that kind of folk music that I think I’m henceforth going to refer to as Poshfolk. You know the sort of thing – all angelic voices and gentle swells of violin, a world of Constable landscapes and larks ascending. Very nicely done, anyway. She certainly seems to be keen on basing songs on poems – not only did we have one inspired by “The Lady Of Shalott”, there was also a setting-to music of one by Robert Burns. No, not that Robert Burns. This one was apparently in the audience.

I was most keen to see Goodnight Lenin, given that they’ve received more than just a few compliments from some of the local blogs. I am now happy to concur with this praise. They’ve been described elsewhere as Birmingham’s answer to Crosby, Stills & Nash, and I can see that but they are a fair bit folksier. One song (announced as a new one) really made me think of Dylan too. They really seem to have the knack of this ‘songwriting’ lark, and “Wencelas Square” has been in my brain on-and-off all week since then. I am very definitely on the bandwagon.

There were more bands on after this, but I had a fixture elsewhere. The only question was where…

(Other folks speak here and here).

Testify.

