Call me Russ L

This Is Not A Title

Posted in Combat Sports, Food, Modern Living, Music, Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 22 February, 2010

Things I’ve particularly liked over the last week or so:

~ Untitled 2 seemed like an interesting sounding happening at The Hare And Hounds in Kings Heath – a one-night-only exhibition by local artists, accompanied by a short (very short, but I was warned about that) set o’music from Laura Louise. Exhibition-wise, I especially liked Faye Binza’s red wooden blocky thingybob (forgive me. I just don’t have the vocabulary for visual art) and already knew that Steve Gerrard took very striking photographs. Laura Louise’s three songs (or, rather, such of them as I could hear; see below) were enjoyable, but she definitely seems to sound different every time I see her. This time we had sharp and percussive (almost funk-ish, in a funny sort of way) acoustic guitar and that astonishing voice of hers. I’ll have to actually see her at a proper gig at some point.
~ I’ve only recently discovered Thatchers’ “Cheddar Valley” (they had it in The Anchor last week, don’t know if it’s there permanently though). Lovely stuff. Reddy-orange cider though, what a notion.
~ The first chess session with James L. Jamesivan in over 18 months was fun, and I won a game! With, scarcely believably, scholar’s mate. That was before he’d started paying attention, though, and of course I lost the following four. This brings my running total against him to something like two wins, two stalemates, and probably going on thirty losses.
~ It’s been in my Delicious/linklog for a while now, but it’s worth saying again that the new Gil Scott-Heron album (perfectly legal stream here) really is something special.

Things I haven’t particularly liked over the last week or so:

~ People talking (and quite often shouting) over Laura Louise while she was trying to play at the abovementioned H&H do. I realise I can’t quite moan about it in the same way I usually do, given that this wasn’t really a gig and instead just a room in the pub they would probably have been talking/shouting in anyway, but still. Bah.
~ Bribery/graft (and I definitely don’t mean in the “hard working” sense) is alive and well in this country. I can’t be specific for the usual “getting sacked for conduct unbecoming” reasons, but it’s astonishing how your latest whim can leap to life in a government department that you have nothing to do with if you’re a substantial Labour party donor with an, erm, literary name.
~ Oh, Rodnog.
~ Supersonic is to be in October this year. While this is a good thing (for me) in terms of avoiding any possible clash with anniversary-type dates, it’s a bad (oh so bad) thing in terms of the fact that it’ll be bloody freezing (oh so bloody freezing).

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Baron said, on 25 February, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Ahhhh yes…Chedder Valley’s a fine pint. They always seem to have it on when I go there. A close second to Weston’s Old Rosie and one of your five a day. Probably.

    Supersonic in October. Brrrrr. That’s an odd move. Still, If I get a few Chedder Valley’s inside me I’ll not know the difference…


Testify.

