Call me Russ L

Rrrrrrock~!

Posted in Music by Russ L on 24 November, 2008

Motorhead and Saxon on the same bill. Imagine that.

It was to The Imperial first for The Boy Trig and myself, and (as is the correct behaviour with regards to all-you-can-eat Chinese buffets) we ate a lot and left the place feeling like we were going to die. All was as it should have been.

Openers Danko Jones were so much better than the last time I saw them, through dint of not rabbiting on and on and on about nothing in bloody particular (or at least not while we were there, anyway. We missed a fair bit). As such they were alright, in a poor man’s AC/DC sort of way.

Saxon were so much better than I was expecting (I wasn’t expecting to dislike them as such, but… well, y’know). One song did seem to plod a bit (apparently it was a new one), but other than that they were great high-energy fun. I wasn’t aware that they did so much double-kick-drum stuff (they sounded almost thrash at times. Almost), and that there ‘And The Band Played On’ is a fantastic song. Hearing Biff’s accent slip between Mid-Atlantic and Barnsleh during his between-song pronouncements was quite funny, too.

This was the third time I’d seen That Durable Rock Tusker-Boar Lemmy (Accompanied By His Fantabulous Motorheads), and – as stupid a criticism as this seems – they are beginning to seem a bit samey. I can’t believe I just wrote that. Half of my brain is screaming “What the bloody hell do you expect from Motorhead?” The sensible half. By which I mean the half containing the sensible sixth.

They’re till good, of course, but the setlist hasn’t seemed to vary much over the last few years. I wanna hear ‘Orgasmatron’, damnit, and suspect I never will. On top of that, we missed ‘Ace Of Spades’ and ‘Overkill’ (shut your mouth) due to needing to leave to get the bus. A cover of Thin Lizzy’s cover of ‘Rosalie’ was a nice surprise, though, and not necessarily one I’d have expected Motorhead to choose.

The guitar and (particularly) drum solos felt loooong this time. The steam-stuff spraying up from the drumkit was quite good, though. I like a special effect now and again.

Testify.

