Call me Russ L

Quick predictions for the weekend

Posted in Combat Sports by Russ L on 17 October, 2008

Excuse the listmania, if you’d be so kind, but I wanted to get my picks in for UFC89 before I actually attend it. I’m eagerly anticipating this; as I’ve said elsewhere, “Possibly not one with wide appeal, but this looks fantastic to me. I’m really looking forward to Bisping/Leben, Taylor/Lytle, Hardy/Gono, Bielkheiden/Liaudin and Etim/Stout, and even outside of those fights it has a bunch of guys I like (Baron, Kelly, Schiavo), one I like to see lose (Davis, although that probably won’t happen here), and a guaranteed messy flinch-inducing destruction (Carwin/Wain).”

Michael Bisping vs Chris Leben – Bisping, submission, R2 (a mad-sounding pick, I know, but I have my reasons)
Brandon Vera vs Keith Jardine – Jardine, decision (maybe. I’m not really fussed. It’s one of the bigger-name fights on the card but by far the one I’m least interested in)
Luiz Cane vs. Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou – Sokoudjou, strikes, R2
Chris Lytle vs. Paul Taylor – Taylor, decision (I. Will. Believe. Yaaaaaaaam yam wherever yow may be, we am the boys from the black country…)
Shane Carwin vs. Neil Wain – Carwin, strikes, R1
Marcus Davis vs. Paul Kelly – Davis, sub, R2 (booooo hiss)
Akihiro Gono vs. Dan Hardy – Hardy, decision
David Bielkheden vs. Jess Liaudin – Bielkheden, decision
Terry Etim vs. Sam Stout – Etim, decision
David Baron vs. Jim Miller – Baron, sub, R3 (maybe. Completely unfamiliar with Miller)
Per Eklund vs. Sammy Schiavo – Schiavo, strikes, R2

Additionally: In the boxing, Hopkins will beat Pavlik in a razor-close decision.

Tagged with: , , ,

Testify.

