Call me Russ L

Blogging as a cure for delirium

Posted in Blogstuff, Food, Modern Living, Music by Russ L on 28 July, 2008

I haven’t been posting much for ages (Have I mentioned that on here before? Because, you know, I haven’t been. Posting, that is. Much, that is. Did I mention that?), but just recently I’ve had an excuse. The Lovely Louise has entered my life and made me as happy as I’ve ever been. If not more so.

Russ L’s handy labour-saving comment-creation device

(Copy and paste into the comments box then delete as applicable)

– Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaw, how sweet.

– Ye Gods, pass the bucket.

There has been other stuff, of course. Chiefmost would be Supersonic; this year the best yet, I think. I’ve had some vague notes and uncoordinated bits of waffle written about it for a couple of weeks now, which I’ll try and press together into some sort of literary masterpiece at some point in the near future (pwomise). The Lovely Louise and I went to see Tercunquinto’s “I Am What I Am” at Ikon Eastside and found it to be what might most politely be described as “half-baked”. Still, we had fun (EDIT: Also, this. We couldn’t find/see a blurb at all, but perhaps that’s for the best given what’s a-written there…). I went to see Butthole Surfers at the Civic Hall Bar and they were enjoyable in a ‘really good grooving rock band’ sort of way. Not quite the mad-arsed blowing-your-brains-out-of-your-ears you’re-a-mentalist-smell-my-cheese psycho-tomfoolery experience you want from the Butthole Surfers, but enjoyable stuff nevertheless. Thai Edge on Brindley Place was very nice if not all-out amazing in any respect.

So, there you go.

I’m such a happy bunny.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Baron said, on 29 July, 2008 at 8:16 am

    If ever a gentleman deserved true love and happiness it’s your good self. Gawd bless yer both!

    Mr and Mrs Baron
    X

  2. Russ L said, on 29 July, 2008 at 10:32 am

    That’s a lovely thing to say. Thank you both.

  3. Ben said, on 1 August, 2008 at 1:05 am

    C’mon Russ, don’t let the small matter of a young lady get in the way of the important business of reporting on Supersonic for the benefit of those of us who couldn’t make it this year. I want to feel the pain at hearing how good Fuck Buttons were…

    ;)

    Seriously, though, blogging should always take a back seat to living, so stop being apologetic. Really chuffed for you mate!

  4. Russ L said, on 1 August, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Ta. You’re all so lovely.

    In retrospect, I really should have used “Love In The Time Of Credit-Crunch” as the title for this post. Oh well.

  5. James said, on 22 August, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Bloody ace news (Of which you knew that I knew already as you told me in person). I look forward to meeting Louise in the future. In news to other people who read Russ’ blog he also played me at Chess in the Briar Rose one Saturday and beat me at a game for only the second time in our years (!?) of playing. I was victorious overall however. Chat and good times rolled. The end.

  6. Russ L said, on 23 August, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Ar, hadn’t got around to mentioning that yet. Or anything much that’s happened recently.

    See Jimmyboy – are you going to see ‘Trucker at that gig a week on Thursday?

  7. James said, on 26 August, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    I would have thought so yes, I see no reason why not, I just have to find the venue. Are you going?

  8. Russ L said, on 27 August, 2008 at 9:33 am

    All being well, yes.

    Been a good while since I last received a good ‘Truckering.

  9. James said, on 27 August, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Well well. This new found love has inspired all kinds of cheeky euphemisms from you. Well I never.


Testify.

