Call me Russ L

Aw, take ‘er away

Posted in Music by Russ L on 18 March, 2008

The backlog continues. This is because I’m a lazy git. Time for another quick/crap post, I think.

On Monday the 3rd it was Autechre at The Med Bar in The Custard Factory, as arranged by Capsule. I don’t want to go too mad on this theme, but there always feels like there’s a slight degree of silliness (beyond standard background-level popular music absurdity) involved in going to see acts that stand behind piles of sequencers and press buttons. Why is that different to seeing acts that stand holding and playing instruments, though? I can’t really come up with anything specific. This is interesting, I feel. (EDIT: P’Ashton particularly felt the disconnect).

I arrived to the sound of a fractured breakbeat fading away alongside static-y bits. This may have been Rob Hall and/or SND (I could only see 1 person on stage, but the support was billed as “Rob Hall & SND”). Or someone or something else. I don’t know.

Autechre got their (note ‘their’ – I always thought Autechre was a singular a singular ‘he’, but it seems there are two of them. Confusion about band staffing levels was obviously the theme of this gig for me) groove on, and by that I mean groooooove. They didn’t really freak out like they tend to do on most of the recorded stuff of theirs that I’ve experienced, which was a surprise – there was barely any glitch to be heard. I’m sure that left some people happy and some less so, but since it was very good groovification I fell into the former. Plenty of folks danced (even me a tiny little bit), and the bass sounded aaaaaaaaawesome near the speakers.

So, er, there you go. I did warn you that it’d be quick/crap.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. throughsilver said, on 18 March, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Autechre, man. Booth and Brown. One of them is called Rob. The other may or may not be called Sean.

    I suppose the difference is that people with guitars can jump around like crazy and people with computers… can’t. Not that guitar bands jump around nowadays anyway.

  2. Russ L said, on 19 March, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    I getcha, but I’m not sure I see how that adds to levels of absurdity.

    I’m not making any sort of argument about whether it’s more or less interesting to watch them. “Why does it feel more peculiar?” is the question.

  3. throughsilver said, on 19 March, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Right, I getcha. Perhaps it is to do with association. When we see dudes with axes and drums we expect entertainment (or at least an attempt at such), but most of us can look up from our desks and see blokes behind PC screens. Ergo when we pay money and have a thousand people in a warehouse peering intently at a man behind a monitor one could be forgiven for feeling a touch of the surreal.


Testify.

