Call me Russ L

Are You Ready? Here We Go, Here We Go-o-o-o-o-o-o

Posted in Music by Russ L on 16 January, 2008

And so – for the second year running – my annual live music campaign began by seeing The Destroyers doing a free tea-time set in the Symphony Hall’s foyer bit at the ICC, courtesy of Rush Hour Blues. I don’t need to tell you how much I love The Destroyers and their Balkan danceband funorama.

I’m not alone, of course. They seem to be pretty popular of late, and there were certainly a lot of people here – the fact that they’d drawn a lot of folks on top of the usual Rush Hour Blues gang was apparent and obvious. The band themselves didn’t waste the opportunity to make the most of this.

Things began with a grand carnival/samba entrance, as they marched through the middle of the crowd tooting horns and beating drums. A typically riotous Destroyers set followed, with a few surprises added on top – some traditional Bulgarian music (this time arranged to suit their own style), and a new song called ‘Methuselah Mouse’ (Methuselah Mouse~!). ‘Professor (something that sounds like it begins with a Z. I haven’t quite caught it either of the times I’ve seen them play it now, sorry)’ made some of the old ‘uns leap about a foot out of their chairs, just like it did at The Town Hall in October. I know it’s cruel, but I think it’ll be a long while before I stop finding that funny.

I became really quite excitable during the interval, when I realised that members of the Dholblasters were lurking around. Sure enough, the second set saw a performance of the collaboration between the two bands (which I first saw at the Town Hall, and you can see too by clicking that link). I stick by my previous description of ’37 sided sonic medicine for your lugholes’. Absolutely amazing.

I’ve written about The Destroyers far too many times now to have much left to say, but please heed these words: Go And See Them. Really. You Will Not Regret Doing So.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bounder said, on 20 January, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Hey Russ – I’m trying a little Brum blogging tig and tag – and you’re it.

  2. Russ L said, on 20 January, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Blimey. I’ve been out of town all weekend and now I need a chance to attempt to thing of some things for this (I’ll probably fail). Give me a little while.


Testify.

