Call me Russ L

Hope everyone had a luvverly Christmas

Posted in Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 29 December, 2007

I thought I’d better write something to that effect. It’s true though, I do. The ‘two or three Christmasseseseseses in my entire life during which I was not ill’ did not expand this year, but I love Christmas nonetheless. Such a sickly child. They shoot horses, don’t they?

There’s still a bunch o’ stuff from before Christmas that I went to but haven’t yet expressed wisdom/gobfoolery, only I can’t seem to get going. I don’t really do New Year so at least that won’t extend the To Do list. Or that particular one. I have a few. There are (*quick count*) seventeen volumes on the To Read pile (not counting the two currently underway), that’s what worries me. I have Waterstones gift cards to use up, too. Will the word offer me no peace?

So, other than that: Santa did come. I was glad about that because I have been especially good. Doctor Who was fun but I think they’re really overdoing the ‘Doctor as Jesus’ bit. I realise that’s a bit rich coming from someone wth a messiah complex as intense as mine. Rilstone will have kittens. I’m picking St. Pierre, Liddell, Lyoto, Fedor, Akiyama, Melendez, Kawajiri, Minowa, Sakuraba, KID, Tamura, and probably some other schmoes. It would be quite funny if Fedor lost, though. I’m glad P’Ashton is on holiday, ‘cos I’ve seen at least two different people on The Stirrer‘s forum refer to ‘posting on a messageboard’ as ‘blogging’ and he’d probably have kittens too. Language not in keeping with the season could well have ended up being employed.

Have a nice New Year, if you go in for such. Happy Windsday, Owl. Happy Windsday, Pooh.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. throughsilver said, on 31 December, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    What a nice post. Happy festivities to you too, and no M1 spoilaz please, I’m getting a DVD in ASAP on that one. Nice UFC picks though. Pretty sure Sanchez qualifies as a ‘schmoe’. But then so does Palelei. I ‘do’ NYE, in as much as a year changes from one to another and I exist during that time. I’m actually off to SubDub, but that’s more to do with me having meant to go back to SubDub for ages rather than feeling like partying. Yep, ‘party’ as verb. And I missed the Wildies, but I was preparing for my hols so what can you do. Looking forward to the vinyl release of their one in February.

  2. Russ L said, on 31 December, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    I will not spoil M1 for you. The two fights I’ve seen so far have been fun, though, and I’ve heard good things about some others. I suspect you’re in for a treat when your disc arrives. I enjoyed the UFC, apart (obviously) from Soa-Sanchez. I wasn’t really expecting to care much about Liddell-Silva, so that was a pleasant surprise (not saying it was an amazing display of fighting or anything, but great fun to watch. I thought).

    I hope you have fun at SubDub, whatever SubDub is. I am completely down with ‘party’ as a verb. Or ‘partay’ at the very least.

  3. Pete Ashton said, on 1 January, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Semantic correctness on t’Stirrer boards regarding bloggery is as likely as cows having kittens, so I’m not too bothered.

    But thanks for the thought. Having a lovely time. Wish you were here. Etc.


Testify.

