Call me Russ L

Pingbacks/trackbacks

Posted in Blogstuff by Russ L on 24 November, 2007

What is the etiquette to be followed when one appears in your comments box?

I usually leave them there for a little while before deleting them. No particular reason, it’s just that I know that they can appear confusing to someone who doesn’t know what they are (I was baffled beyond belief the first couple of times I saw one). Should I be leaving them permanently, though?

Thoughts would be appreciated.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pete Ashton said, on 24 November, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    I’d say it depends on what you think of the pinging post. If it’s blatantly spam / linkwhoring then delete it, if it’s a simple “via” then probably delete it. If it’s a useful continuation of the topic, spreading the conversation across the net, then leave it.

    CiB sends out trackbacks like a dog on heat sends out pheromones (ie automatically) but some people are quite careful about sending them. Use your judgement.

  2. Russ L said, on 24 November, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    I’m glad to know I’m not doing anything that people will think is rude, then. That was my main worry.

    I’ve recently switched my defaults on this to sending out pingbacks (or, at least, I think I have). I’ll see how it goes.

    As a user and appreciator of convoluted similies, I have to say I love ‘a dog on heat sending out pheremones’ as a way of getting to ‘automatically’.

  3. Pete Ashton said, on 25 November, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Yeah, I was pretty pleased with that one.


Testify.

