Call me Russ L

Holte it down boy, your head’s getting blurred

Posted in Combat Sports by Russ L on 19 November, 2007

I made sure I got there early for AMMA’s (mostly) amateur Mixed Martial Arts Card held at the Holte End Suite of the Villa Ground on Saturday the 17th, since it was ‘technically’ sold out. I suppose it wasn’t that dissimilar to their previous two events (both of which sold out on the door, and for both of which I was jammy enough to be able to get there before they started turning folk away), but there felt like there was a greater urgency to this one.

I suppose that shouldn’t seem surprising, though, since it was on this card that they inaugurated their new amateur British titles. That’s bound to generate extra interest. Regular/committed readers of this blog (lets pretend there are some. Humour me) will know that I really rate these AMMA cards, and this one was as great as usual. The atmosphere was incredibly lively, and I for some reason like the venue even though I’m increasingly finding that it’s not brilliant for a shortarse like me. I missed a fair few notable bits of what happened on the ground, but never mind.

Your results are in this messageboard thread (I may or may not replace that with a more permanent link when one appears. This depends on whether or not I remember and whether or not I can be bothered). As seems to be becoming my pattern, I’ll just mention my personal highlights:

– The welterweight title match featuring Richard Hall (Team Supreme) against James Mattingley (Relentless) was my fight of the night. It took place standing for the most part, with Mattingley ahead by landing more punches but Hall scoring back with a few of his own and some good knees. A knee from Mattingley in the second opened up an absolute gusher of a cut, and the end came at the behest of the medics. It was absolute warfare from start to finish, and it’d be fantastic to see a rematch at some point.

– I was really chuffed to see Dan Korbely (Team Supreme) win the featherweight title title. From the first time I saw him (this was the fifth – the previous four were the ones he has recorded on MMAU, funnily enough, although I know he’s had more fights than that) I knew he’d be going on to bigger things. I think even bigger things will be afoot for him yet.

– Linton Vassel of Total Dojo (new heavyweight champ) looked absolutely monstrous.

– The two most local teams (F’s Freestyle of Kings Norton & Supreme of Cannock) collectively won all of their fights bar one. They’ve both been doing extremely well at the local-ish cards I get to go to (this & Angrrr Management) of late.

It was announced that the next one will be in March, anyway, at Bescot. I’d really recommend it if you can get to it and have even the slightest interest in MMA. (EDIT: No it won’t. 12th of April at The Villa again, that’s when you want).

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daniel Korbely said, on 23 March, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Thanks for the support mate, ive read a couple of our reviews about me, glad ive got atleast 1 fan lol. (y)

  2. Russ L said, on 23 March, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Without wanting to sound too arse-licky, I think you deserve it boss.

    I gather they’ve been having trouble finding anyone to fight you; I hope someone can find a good match for you soon.

    One of these days I’ll turn up for a session at Supreme (and embarass myself, obviously)…

  3. Dan Korbely said, on 20 July, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Cheers Dude i appreciate it, im fighting Gareth Pilot in 2 weeks for my belt, you going to be making an apperance? If you see me about introduce yourself. You should turn up, have a good session with us. (Sorry about a well late reply lol)

  4. Russ L said, on 21 July, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Yup, I’ll be there so long as it doesn’t sell out or anything.

    Best of luck in your fight.

  5. Dan Korbely said, on 21 July, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Cheers (y)

  6. Dan Korbely said, on 13 April, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Hi mate, can I be dead cheeky and put a link to my new gym on this page? I know this page is years n years old just getting the link out to as many places as I can. If you do mind delete it please.

    http://www.wolverhamptonmma.co.uk

  7. Russ L said, on 13 April, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    No worries boss!


Testify.

