Call me Russ L

Dilemma

Posted in Music by Russ L on 11 November, 2007

(Ow…)*

I find myself caught at the talons of a dilemma.

There was once a time when Carina Round meant more to me than quite a lot of things. Nowadays… well, I don’t know. I don’t mean that euphemistically; I’m genuinely not sure. Her most recent album was a definite step down in quality, although not by any means bad. For a slightly lengthier exposition of my history with the woman and subsequent sad realisation that she’s not who she once was, read this. Then read this.

Right, so, after not having played in this country for quite a long time, she’s doing two local gigs (so she should, being from round here and all) in December – at The Bar Academy (spit) on the tenth, and at The Little Civic on the eleventh. The trouble with this is that the 10th also sees MIA playing at Rojac, and the eleventh has Gogol Bordello at The Wulfrun (my first choices for those nights, but other potentially fun artists playing locally over the two days include Rolo Tomassi, Rihanna, and The Young Gods. They’re not quiet weekdays).

So, what does a righteous frood do? I mean… it’s Carina. But… it’s present-day Carina, and there’s other luvverly stuff.

Help.

* Kelly Rowland. Do I have to explain everything?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jennifer said, on 12 November, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Hi,

    I discovered Carina at the Hotel Cafe, on Hollywood Blvd. She was magnetic from the first chord.

    Since joining her MySpace page, I suspect she is not entirely happy with the way that her music has been altered by the machine that is the music industry…

    Watching her perform with Annie Lennox (in LA and NY) was mindblowing and, if I can convince you to make your way to one of her shows, I think it would be worth your while. As much as she seems to regret her partnership with Interscope, she is again finding her own voice without any corporate directives. Two songs to look out for: ‘Backseat’ and ‘Theif in the Sky’ – I highly anticipate hearing these songs on a record of her own doing…not given a pop-like background to ‘sell music to the radio stations.’

    I think all true music lovers know commerical radio is CRAP.

    Carina will find a way to get her music heard…she needs her loyal fans to stay behind her…

  2. Russ L said, on 13 November, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Ah, she’s already bemoaning the effects of Major-Label-dom? I didn’t know that (I’m allergic to MySpace bulletins. Reading them brings me out in a nasty rash).

    These two gigs in question will be ram-packed full irrespective of whether I turn up or not (she has a pretty fanatical following around here). I’m so conflicted…


Testify.

