Call me Russ L

Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007: Those Were The Two Weeks That Were

Posted in Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007 by Russ L on 24 October, 2007

So, Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007 is over. That was my GDFAF. 42 bands (29 of whom I’d never seen before) in 12 venues (4 of which I’d never visited before).

I intentionally didn’t write anything about how I felt the whole thing was going as I went along, but anyone who saw me will know that I was completely bored with it by about halfway through. I was enjoying (most of) the gigs, but I was completely fed up with the process. I suppose it just isn’t a novelty any more for me, having done it two years running. Tiredness wasn’t a problem, nor inertia as such; it was active disinterest, if you see what I mean.

Next years is a long, long way away, and so everything could change between now and then, but it’s exceedingly unlikely that I’ll do it again. So… who will? Obviously the main thing about this is for people to go to more and different things than they would in their usual runnings irrespective of how many this may be, but I’d like to see someone do the whole fortnight/major Goodfaff every year. I think it’s a nice tradition to preserve. Hopefully someone local, too.

Well? Anyone?

Testify.

