Call me Russ L

GDFAF Auxilliary Activity: Some MMA (13/10/7)

Posted in Combat Sports, Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007 by Russ L on 14 October, 2007

So, precedent has been established that someone doing the GDFAF fortnight can have a night off in the middle, but that it’s better if they don’t have the night ‘off’ as such and instead go to some other kind of non gig-related event. Mine, this year, was taken up by Angrrr Management’s “13 – Unlucky For Some” Mixed Martial Arts card at the Glades Leisure Centre Arena in Kidderminster.

This was, initially, going to be one long whinge about how early the trains are. Previously, the last train back from Kiddi was at ten past ten, which frequently isn’t a fat lot of use (I missed three fights at the one before this, for example, including the two I was most interested in seeing). This time, I left (muttering and grumbling to myself) in time for that, to arrive at the station and see that there’s now also a train to Birmingham Moor Street at six minutes past eleven. Score! It doesn’t take me straight home, but it takes me to where I can get a bus. I missed the Prem Mysiala fight and the first couple of minutes of the Ross Mason fight while heading there and back, and still had to leave before the Marc Goddard fight, but I’m much happier about the situation now. I was thinking that I might not bother to go to any more of these particular cards (as much as I enjoy them) if I was almost guaranteed to miss a fairly large chunk, but happily that need not be the case.

The rest of this post will take the form of an homage to something only a few people will know, but it will save me having to write structured paragraphs such as a literate person would:

Wot worked

– New train routes, obviously.
– Ross Mason vs Henrique Santana was fantastic, even if I did miss the very beginning. I’ve been a fan of Ross The Boss for ages, and though he always has exciting fights he’s suffered from a few losses just lately. It’s great to see him getting back to winning ways. Lots of sweeps and exchanges of position took place on the ground before Ross’ g’n’p took its toll and Santana was forced to give midway through the second round. Cue much rejoicing.
– Barry Mears knocked out Ross Mould with a punch that landed on his nose. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before.
– Alexandre Izidro looked a lot more aggressive than he’s often known for (I still have flashbacks to that horrific five-round affair against Mario Stapel), pushing the pace while standing (again surprising, perhaps) throughout. Not sure I agree with the decision going to Paul Reed, but then again it was very close.
– A really neat armbar from Mick Broster, there.
– Josh Ramage vs Nick Hipkiss was absolute warfare.

Wot gone done and not worked

– Missing bits in spite of the new train schedule was a shame, but there we are. I just wish I’d known about the later one beforehand.
– I’m bored with the Philippino stickfighting demos now, after having seen them three times. I’m not saying it’s not legitimate or not a worthwhile pursuit or anything, and it’s certainly a novelty when you first encounter it, but can’t we just get on with the MMA?

There’s a Sherdog report about this here.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom Podmore said, on 16 October, 2007 at 10:47 am

    I went to Kidderminster on Saturday.

    Now – as i have previously alluded to on many, many occasions – I’m not a great fan of MMA. I can see its appeal, but its just not boxing. I know its not trying to be but it lacks something, for me anyway.

    I’ve grown up with boxing, fought in over 20 amateur boxing contests myself (if it wasn’t for me becoming an insulin-dependent diabetic, i would have probably gone pro) and worshipped the sport. Now a fairly new combat sport comes along and tries to proclaim its better for excitement and value-for-money than boxing.

    Sorry, but I can’t agree.

    I enjoyed the card – mainly because two Redditch (a place I have lived for a wee while now, though can’t wait to move!) lads, Chris Rice and Ross Mason, won – but didn’t leave as satisfied as I do when I leave a professional or amateur boxing card.

    This isn’t a dig at the promoters of the show, by the way, as it was probably the best MMA card I have attended.

    Again, this might sound biased but I have never felt MMA is as tough as professional boxing. Sure, the fighting on the ground is skilful, hard-fought and entertaining, but for raw excitement and toe-to-toe action you will go a long way to find something as exciting as Hagler-Hearns, etc.

    I asked Chris Rice, who had one professional boxing contest (losing on points to Duane Reid), what sport he thought was harder.

    He said: “Boxing is more physically demanding on your body. You get hit harder with fists and although the kicks in MMA hurt, you seem to recover quicker than you do when tagged by a decent shot in boxing.”

    For me, there is nothing more difficult than fighting a man with only your fists.

    I’m not trying to make it a boxing vs MMA debate but just thought I’d put my opinion across to people who think boxing is dying, isn’t the sport it was, etc.

  2. Russ L said, on 16 October, 2007 at 11:03 am

    Which is all entirely fair enough. The very fact that you did go and have watched MMA is sufficient evidence that you’ve given it a fair chance, which is all anyone can do. I don’t expect everyone to like it, just not to be as bloody stupid in their criticism as you so often see (this works the other way round too, of course. There are a lot of MMA people who are outright cretinous when they speak about boxing).

    I do enjoy MMA more. I like the greater number of variables, and the wider degree of things you can see in a fight. I don’t find that ‘toe to toe action’ is the only thing (or even the main thing) that can create a peak of excitement. This isn’t to say I dislike boxing at all; just that I like MMA more.

    Having never actually practiced either (maybe one day) I can’t say which I would think would be more difficult, but I think it’s a moot point. To get to a high level and master all of the intricacies in either is something you would have to dedicate your life to. The ‘difficulty’ is not something I can see anyone being able to quantify. I’d definitely agree with the fact that boxing is the more violent of the two sports.

  3. josh said, on 16 September, 2008 at 1:48 am

    glad i left a good impression on your evening , interesting blog

    josh ramage


Testify.

