Call me Russ L

GDFAF #5: Acacia/New Street Adventure/ Masca (10/10/7)

Posted in Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007, Music by Russ L on 11 October, 2007

Reason Why Russ L Is Stupider Than You Might Think (Even Given That We All Think He’s Pretty Darn Stupid To Begin With) #381: I thought I had this fifth night of GDFAF sorted. “Seth Lakeman at The Wulfrun on Wednesday the 10th, that’ll be a good ‘un” I muttered to myself (attracting funny looks from everyone else at the bus stop. I tell you, I nearly dropped my can of Special Brew). The trouble with that cunning plan, of course, was that his gig there is on Friday the twelfth, not Wednesday the tenth. Bloody inconsiderate.

A quick scout around the internets revealed that there was a gig of some sort going on at The Rainbow, and I decided to go for that. I had no idea who was playing, but that of course is very GDFAF-esque. Spirit of enquiry and so on. I do like The Rainbow, too. The courtyard out the back that makes for a great gig venue.

Masca opened, playing slick poppy rock, with a slight bluesy feel on a few songs and one with a bit of a ska lean. Entirely ordinary stuff, but they seemed likeable enough. The singer had a fair bit of charisma and stage presence about herself, and some of the songs sounded halfway catchy. The guitarist was a bit prone to over-solo-ing, and the cover of ‘Crazy’ was nothing if not pointless, but I thought they were alright.

I didn’t catch the name of the second band, and so in the name of investigative goodfaffery I went as far as asking the bloke doing the door. He didn’t know either. Right. E-research this morning tells me that they were New Street Adventure. Hmmm. This New Street meme seems to be getting a bit Bad Wolf on me. They were clearly the main drawing band of the night, anyway, with a substantial and enthusiastic following. Indie-pop/rock, anyway, with clangy-chimy guitar and prominent basslines. It was a really familiar sound, but no comparisons are leaping to mind. Some lyrics here and there sounded like they might have been amusing if I’d have been able to hear them properly, and again they were alright.

Acacia are a band who feel like they’ve been around forever but I’d never got around to seeing, and they finished things. Big rock, with some bluesy Zeppelin-y riffs. Audioslave came to mind at a few points, actually. Reasonable stuff, quite grooving – once again, they were alright.

While I wouldn’t go out of my way to see any of these three bands again, they were basically three Basic Melodic Rock bands that I thought were OK-ish. Have I gone soft or something?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris C said, on 13 October, 2007 at 10:02 am

    boo-urns to soft Russ. We want textual violence.

  2. Russ L said, on 14 October, 2007 at 8:40 am

    I can’t lie about them just to have something juicy to write! That would be bad. And I’m good, me.

    Having said that, when it comes to this gig I really can’t help but think it was me who got it wrong rather than any of those bands getting it particularly right.

  3. ZENTA said, on 1 November, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    i watched this gig i thought they were all great did not watch the last band as i had to leave, but i really liked masca, they were likable and i thought their songs were very catchy maybe a little too nice somtimes but had no ego which was refreshing from a band who can hold their own. musicianship was very good and the guitarist and drummer was in a professional class whether that is good or bad. oh fuck it they were really good and performed really well. The only thing was the singer did mention a few times that they played japan which could rub some people up the wrong way but who gives a shit i really liked it.

    second band were really good, but got turned off cos they were a little artic monkies jangle, jangle no really original . but was impressed by their lyrics, big ego though but maybe cos they had the crowd on their side.

    I spoke to the lead singer in masca and she was pissed but really nice, went onto there myspace page and she looks nothing like her pics but still very sexy im a fan anyway

    Anyway just another opinion z

  4. new street fan said, on 14 November, 2007 at 10:42 am

    you havent got a clue new street are amazing!


Testify.

