Call me Russ L

Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007 – Personal Intro

Posted in Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007, Music by Russ L on 24 September, 2007

GDFAF! This has really crept up on me. My second Goodfaff fortnight in as many years (archives for 2006 here) begins in less than two weeks.

Doing the entire fortnight again myself wasn’t always the plan. Someone had to, though, and I wanted to make sure that at least one West Midlands blogger went the distance alongside P’Ashton‘s fabby idea of throwing it open to the world. A couple of people showed a touch of interest, but only in a vague and non-definite way. It all came together when I realised that a load of interesting-looking stuff was a’gwaaning for the re-opening of Birmingham Town Hall at aroundabout the same time as a few other gigs I was intending to go to. I realised I’d probably be doing close to a fortnight anyway; why not take the extra step?

It’s probably needed, really, since my gig-going of late has been somewhat sparser than it has been in times gone by. I put this down to me really, really, really being sick of People Into Music (they’re an annoying bunch on the whole, if you’ll excuse the generalisation), but the reasons aren’t all that important. If we wanted to be dramatic we could try to paint this as a kind of Kill Or Cure type of thing: maybe it’ll get me back into heavy gig-going, or maybe it’ll finish me off and I’ll never go to another one ever again. More likely neither, obviously.

So, what shall I go to? As with last year, the acquisition of tickets in advance has been employed as a stratagem for offsetting some of the on-the-spot costs, and hence I’ll be off to Thomas Dolby at the Academy on the 8th (Science!), The Destroyers at the Town Hall on the afternoon of the 7th (I’ll want something for the night too, though), Pram and MTO at the Town Hall on the 15th, and (best of all) Billy Ocean (~!) at The Civic on the 18th. My ‘night off’ will be on the 13th, where I’ll be going to the Angrrr Management MMA card in Kiddi. For everything else, I need help. I have a few ideas for more (a LOTTSADITWM post containing most of them will follow in the next few days), but I really would appreciate suggestions of gigs happening between the 6th and the 21st (inclusive) from any and all.

Meanwhile, is anyone else joining in?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rich Batsford said, on 24 September, 2007 at 10:19 am

    Ah, too late for my solo gig at the Old Joint Stock Theatre on Sept 27th?
    Xx

  2. Jez said, on 24 September, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Does Mitch Benn at the mac on the 13th tickle? Space Ritual in Stourbridge on the 19th? Jeffrey Lewis at the Hare and Hounds on the 20th? That would be a fun thing to finish on.

    I’ll see you at Thomas Dolby, and probably from Pram too. Does Cirque Du Soleil count as a gig?

  3. Russ L said, on 24 September, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Cirque Du Soleil don’t fall into my definition of popular music, no. Category error. I’m going to see their former collaborator Slava in November, if that’s any help.

    Sorry Rich – I won’t be at your gig. This herementioned fortnight plus swanning around the Southern bits of the country as I have been in recent weeks and this weekend coming restricts finances a bit.

    Please keep suggestions coming!

  4. Jez said, on 24 September, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Having been instructed not to call something a “show”, I wondered if Cirque would count. I wasn’t necessarily proposing it for your good self because a) it’s eyewateringly expensive and I wouldn’t be going were it not to accompany my goodwyf and b) it’s probably sold out now anyway.

    Does a “gig” for GDFAF purposes have to be music by one of today’s popular beat combos?

  5. Russ L said, on 24 September, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Ah, well, I’ve been wandering about this. Initially, I did see it as a popular music and popular music only type of thing. We’ve done that now though, haven’t we?

    So, ultimately, I’m not sure. Mahler’s 2nd would make for a genuinely spectacular finale on the 21st, being one of my favourite symphonies ever.

    P.S. – ‘Show’ is not forbidden terminology as such. Only calling popular music gigs by that name will summon the Reapers.


Testify.

