Call me Russ L

Tee hee hee new toy

Posted in Books, Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 15 September, 2007

Oh, how I thank Madam Careless for alerting the unalert amongst us to the existence of LibraryThing.

It’s a book-based version of that Record Nerd website, which always appealed to me but I never bothered with (what do you do about taped albums and downloads and so on? I wasn’t going to have that keeping me awake at night). You’ve either got a book or you ain’t, though, so this is perfect. The only problem I’ve found so far is that it’s sometimes not possible to get the correct edition displayed. Who knew that I’d be bothered by that? The things you learn.

The actual cataloguing process is strangely relaxing, too. I’ve done one shelf and I’m about to get stuck into some more before I head outwards for Artsfest. The work-in-progress list is here. It’ll probably be a fair old while before it’s finished.

This is so much fun. And yes, I am a nerd.

EDIT/UPDATE: Ah, nuts. You can only put 200 books on unless you pay $10 per year, and I’ve hit that limit already with lots left to go. Hmmm. I will have to think about this. I know it’s not much but I’m loathe to pay anything for webcrap that’s similar to other webcrap that’s free.

Plus their alphabetical listings for authors are a bit wonky.

Plus none of the searches do very well at picking up old children’s books.

EDIT/UPDATE from much, much later: Sod Librarything, Shelfari is where it’s at.

Testify.

