Call me Russ L

Lots Of Things To See And Do In The West Midlands: September 2007

Posted in Combat Sports, Films, LOTTSADITWM, Modern Living, Music, Stage, Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 25 August, 2007

It’s back, it appears. To be entirely honest with you, it was meant to be back sooner. I didn’t feel like doing it for May but for both June and July I intended to write one of these here listings posts, and was only stopped by the small matter of ‘me being completely useless’. I couldn’t find enough stuff to make it worth restarting in August, but now – for this most transitional of months – we recommence.

Oh yeah – some of you may be wandering what on earth this is. Checka da archives-a. Before the beginning of a month I used to write some guff ‘n’ gittish comments about things due to happen in the West Midlands (based more on Birmingham and The Black Country than Coventry, though not necessarily deliberately) that had struck me as interesting/fun/worth attending.

Standard disclaimers: I can’t ensure that these events will go ahead, that they’ll be good, or that I will be going to them. Please do not contact me to ask for your event to be included. That’s not the way it works.

Saturday the 1st and Sunday the 2nd – The Moseley Folk Festival @ Moseley Park, Moseley, Birmingham – I really, really enjoyed the day of this that I went to last year. Beer-related cock-ups aside (not that I wish to downplay those. Beer Is Very Important), it was really nicely run and had a lovely atmosphere. The line-up doesn’t entice me as much this time but I’m going to go to both days. Watch out for Tunng (TheirSpace), ‘cos they’re great.

Saturday the 1st – High On Fire @ The Barfly, Digbeth, Birmingham – Clashing with Moseley Folk, but there are of course those amongst the massive who refer to folk music by various sexuality-based epithets. They may be an excercise in Banging The Head That Does Already Bang, but I like High On Fire and their Motorhead-With-Occasional-Doom-Bits larks. It’s Capsule.

Sunday the 2nd – Heart Of England Judo Championships @ The NIA, Birmingham – I believe the phrase I am looking for is THROW BY CLOTHES

Tuesday the 4th – The Police @ The NIA, Birmingham – To quote Atom And His Package, “Sting Cannot Possibly be The Same Guy Who Was In The Police.”

Tuesday the 4th – Chris Cornell @ The Academy, Birmingham – Chris Cornell, however, quite possibly could be the same guy who was in Soundgarden.

Wednesday the 5th – Regina Spektor @ The Academy, Birmingham – Just make sure you pronounce it right. It’s ‘Regeena’ apparently. I know, me too.

Wednesday the 5th – Birmingham Storytelling Circle @ Scruffy Murphy’s, Birmingham – A free meeting “for people who simply want to tell and listen to stories.” That’s a lovely idea.

Thursday the 6th – Steel Pulse @ The Academy, Birmingham – I once did a college course with the son of the keyboard player from Steel Pulse. There’s your fact of the day. Handsworth Revolution!

Sunday the 9th – Damien Dempsey @ The Academy, Birmingham – I’m not sure how this one has come about. It’s a joint headline with Nizlopi (meh), which I’d assumed was part of a tour but it appears is actually a one-off. Whichever way up and though his amateur boxing credentials may be disputed by some, Damo is a fantastic songwriter with an amazingly intense delivery.

Wednesday the 12th – Lucky Soul @ The Barfly, Digbeth, Birmingham – I haven’t decided if there’s anything to them beyond pastiche yet, but I do like this band.

Friday the 14th to Sunday the 16th – Artsfest @ all over the place in Birmingham – The annual massive assemblage of freeness. Generally there’s all sorts of gubbins for all ages going on all over the place, but they haven’t released a line-up of any kind yet. There is a ‘top ten attractions’ here (linked to CIB, since the Artsfest’s own site doesn’t have a permalink for it. Silly rabbits).

Saturday the 15th – Blaze Bayley @ The Little Civic, Wolverhampton – Good ol’ Tammuff Blaze advertised for band members through the JobCentre recently, which amuses me for reasons I can’t quite figure out. This gig is subtitled My Life Unplugged, but I have no idea whatsoever whether that means it’s acoustic or an “Evening With…” type affair or what.

Saturday the 15th – P.J. Promotions’ “Hope And Glory” (Boxing) @ The ICC, Birmingham – A boxing card being held to commemorate The Battle Of Britain, apparently. I’m not sure precisely how it’ll be commemorating it – maybe the profits are going to organisations that help veterans or something. I have no idea. Three title fights, anyway, although none of this will matter to most of us since it’s one of these dinner show larks and tables apparently cost a grand and a half.

Saturday the 15th – Misty’s Big Adventure @ The Academy 2, Birmingham – Local act considered legendary by many. I still haven’t seen them, but I suspect that the Aca2 probably isn’t the best place to do so for the first time.

Tuesday the 18th – Regional Shorts: Screen Test @ The MAC, Edgbaston, Birmingham – Six short films from local directors. Intriguingly, Steve Rainbow’s ‘Quest For Fire’ is about “One man’s quest to find the hottest curry in the land.”

Thursday the 20th – The Curate’s Egg @ The Hare & Hounds, Kings Heath, Birmingham – Less music and more comedy in this installment of what is becoming known as a reliable monthly night of weirdness. Never heard of the headlining comedians Simon Munnery or Andrew Bailey. I’ve heard of Nadeem Rangzeb. A spot of research tells me that “Godfrey Slater And His Invisible Ducks” is Al from The Courtesy Group. And, presumably, some ducks. Invisible ones.

Friday the 21st – The Misfits @ Wulfrun Hall, Wolverhampton – As part of their 30th anniversary tour. I like this band, and so I’m trying my very hardest not to blame them for many of the regretable haircuts we see amongst the youth of today.

Saturday the 22nd – K-Star’s “Shoothai” (MMA/Muay Thai) @ The Royale Suite, Perry Bar, Birmingham – Or at least I assume it’s a mix of MMA and Muay Thai bouts, going between that link and this one. No idea who might be fighting.

Saturday the 22nd – Boxing (Coventry Sporting Club) @ The Leofric Hotel, Coventry – There’s lots of boxing this month. I would presume that this event is a dinner show.

Saturday the 22nd to Sunday the 23rd – GB Judo World Cup @ The NIA, Birmingham – I believe the phrase I’m looking for is still THROW BY CLOTHES

Sunday the 23rd – Hed(PE) @ The Barfly, Digbeth, Birmingham – Now there’s a name that’s a blast from the past. Hed(PE) were like grime-metal before there was even grime, which is quite prescient when you think about it.

Sunday the 23rd – Tortoise M.O.T. @ Birmingham Nature Centre, Edgbaston, Birmingham – Probably only of interest to tortoise-owners (a group of which I am sadly not a part), but it sounded good.

Tuesday the 25th till Thursday the 27th – “Macbeth Kill Bill Shakespeare” @ The MAC, Edgbaston, Birmingham – Malachi Bogdanov’s play about what would have happened if Quentin Tarantino had written had written Macbeth. Feelings of “Hmmm” leap to mind, but apparently it has been getting very good reviews.

Wednesday the 26th – Alabama 3 @ The Academy 2, Birmingham – From the Deep South. Or London, as we know it over here.

Wednesday the 26th – Akala @ Bar Academy, Birmingham – What I didn’t know about Akala was that he is apparently Ms Dynamite’s brother. Master Dynamite-Hee-Hee…

Friday the 28th – Mothertrucker / Grandscope @ The Island Bar, Birmingham – (i.e. next door to the Alexandra – apparently they sell cocktails). Two of the best local bands on the same bill. Huzzah, sez I.

Friday the 28th – Boxing (Pat Cowdell) @ The Skydome, Coventry – Headlined by Howard Eastman vs Birmingham’s Wayne Elcock for the British middleweight title. A complicated path has led to this one, what with Elcock leaving Ringside Promotions for Frank Maloney, Maloney handing the purse bids back, Brum stalwart Pat Cowdell eventually picking up the fight, and then changing the venue to The Skydome. Blimey. Matty Hough appears to be on the undercard too – let’s hope he can back to winning ways.

Friday the 28th – Boxing (Ringside Promotions) @ Your guess is as good as mine at the minute – So, Ringside were due to have a card on the 21st at the Villa Leisure Centre with a bunch of their usual fighters, but apparently that venue has closed down and now the card will be elsewhere on the 28th. Tom Podmore says in The Never-Ending Boxcot Comments Thread that it could be at town’s Holiday Inn or the National Motorcycle Museum in Solihull. Bikes and boxing together, imagine that. Punters at The Skydome will be able to smell the testosterone from there.

Sunday the 30th – ‘Meltdown Metalfest’ @ The Barfly, Digbeth, Birmingham – A strange line-up, in some ways. All of the bands play distorted guitars and use vocals that differ from sweetly singing, of course, but beyond that there seems to be no common thread (that I can divine) running through it. This is not to say that I’m opposed to nods in the vague direction of variation, of course. Note well that Assert (TheirSpace) are playing. They always tear the roof off the place.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. throughsilver said, on 25 August, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    You know something brother? I might have to see Cornell in Birmingham, on account of I don’t think he’s even coming to the Norf. He apparently plays some Soundgarden songs. And I loved his first album dearly.

    Also: is the Misfits this year the actual Misfits, or Jerry Only & A Couple Of Other Dudes? That said, I am one of the few who doesn’t diss JO&ACOOD; it would be nice to see them with Doyle, Graves et al.

  2. Russ L said, on 26 August, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Well let me tell you something brotha, I probably won’t be there myself. Bit of an economy drive going on, y’see, due to some expensive escapades coming up (the need to comandeer a Chiltern Railways train and invade East London on the 8th being the first amongst them).

    I don’t know the precise line-up of The Misfits but I’m as certain as you can be about anything that it won’t include Danzig. The only one of their albums I’ve ever heard all the way through is the Jerry & Assorted Minions era ‘Famous Monsters’ and I like that.

  3. throughsilver said, on 27 August, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Oh yeah, under no illusions that Danzig is gonna be in it. It’s more that there is a big personnel difference between Famous Monsters (which I dig a lot), and the touring deal which – when I saw them – was literally just Jerry Only from the Misfits. Famous Monsters had Only and Doyle Wolfgang von Frankenstein (plus the excellent Michale Graves). I was going to mention Dr. Chud, but apparently he wasn’t on stuff like Earth AD. That had ROBO on it who, interestingly, is in the current line-up. Hmm, the things you learn on trips to Wikipedia. So that’s two ‘proper’ members.

    I suppose it depends how much you want to hear Jerry Only sing. Good show though.

  4. Russ L said, on 27 August, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    From their website:

    “The Misfits currently remain more aggressive, more topical and more sought after than ever before. Relentlessly led by founding member; Jerry Only (Bass/Vocals) with former Black Flag alum Dez Cadena on guitar and original Misfits drummer Robo still behind the kit, the Misfits continue to sell out shows and draw thousands of fans night after night around the globe.”

    Topical?

    Two things I have learned: I wasn’t aware before your post that Only The Lonely actually sang, and (from elsewhere on the page I got the above from) apparently they had a Ramone in their ranks at one point. Craziness.

    ***

    An addition: I forgot to mention The Stirrer’s meeting about gentrification in Digbeth, at The Spotted Dog on Thursday the 6th.


Testify.

