Call me Russ L

Rock ‘n’ Rainboll Part Two

Posted in Music by Russ L on 19 August, 2007

Pffft, gigs at The Rainbow, eh? You don’t go to one all your life and then you end up at two in the space of less than a week. I blame Thatcher.

So, in terms of a comparison to the Friday night therelinked, on Wednesday the 15th they had the cover thing over the open-roofed half of the courtyard (it’s a canvas sort of affair), and the grill/barbeque wasn’t on. That’s a shame. I probably would have bought me some eats.

I arrived, paid the very reasonable £3 (for one international and two local bands I reckon that’s pretty good), and waited. And waited. Ah, late runnings. People like me who get about via public transport love late runnings.

The Dexateens from America (and they really were, this time. Not just pretending to be American like most bands I end up seeing) opened. Southern-rock with a dash of garage-blues about them, maybe like The Rolling Stones meeting a much (much) happier version of 16 Horsepower without all the Faulkner American Gothic business. I liked ‘em a lot; good tunes and an engaging performance. The drummer marching into the audience t’umping his cowbell was a fun moment, and I really liked the bassplayer’s shuffle. Deft footwork. You don’t see enough of that from guitar bands.

I was unsure about Mr Derry, liking them and disliking them at different points in their set. Pretty standard indie-rock ‘n’ roll, definitely, but with what sounded at times like catchy fun songs and at others like little beyond bluster. They swung between giving off energy and the feeling that they were having a good time up there and giving off the impression that there was a lot of energy being expended to make it look as though they were having a good time. For the time being, I’ll say: dunno.

The Big Bang were a band I liked a lot when I saw them at The Jug nearly a year and a half ago, but didn’t quite get around to seeing again until this. Well, I still didn’t to see very much of them, going on as they did at well after eleven (on a weeknight. What on earth is the point?). Still great, of course, very 80sMBB-LD, raggedy-arsed glory, blah blah. Then I went home. Annoyed.

On a tangential but related note, I would also like to give hails to that one girl who works at The Rainbow. The most hardworking barmaid in Birmingham, sez I.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris C said, on 20 August, 2007 at 11:36 am

    “I would also like to give hails to that one girl who works at The Rainbow”

    hails? Is that what they’re calling it these days?


Testify.

