Call me Russ L

Miscellaneous Bits

Posted in Books, Combat Sports, Modern Living, Music, Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 17 August, 2007

Russ L’s top five tunes of right now this minute, presented in exciting reverse order:

5) Whitney Houston – I Wanna Dance With Somebody
4) Can – Vitamin C
3) Beyonce – Get Me Bodied
2) Rip Rig & Panic – You’re My Kind Of Climate
1) Copter – Testify

~ ~ ~

Any regular look-er at-er of this blog who doesn’t actually know me in person (there are millions, I tell you. Millions. I am not merely shouting into a void, irrespective of what appearances might suggest) might not realise that I’m an avid reader. I don’t tend to find easy to write about, you see. Speak all you will regarding dancing about architecture, but I’m even less able to dance about dance. Or talk about talk. The only thing about me, in fact, is the way I walk. That way is ‘about walk’, obviously. It’s quite the stride.

As the Brownian motion of this swirl of Authentic Russ L Gibberish loses momentum and we bob gently towards the actual point, I bring this up as a way of getting around to dropping two pieces of science: A) The Artist Formerly Known As The Shiny Shoed Concert Slattern now be spreading the word heavy about literature (The Tatty Trainered Book Tart?); B) Read Stephen Hawkin’s “A Brief History Of Time.” Yes, I know, but I’m telling you. It doesn’t deserve to be remembered as the book that people buy just to put on their shelf to try and look clever. It explains obscenely complex things in an understandable way. Plus: light cones. My mind=blown. If you don’t think a diagrammatic representation all possible causal future and past isn’t amongst the top ten most reeking-of-awesomeness things evaaar then I question the working condition of your reekingofawesomenessdar.

~ ~ ~

Whupped again at chess by Smilin’ James Trucker on Sunday morning, but, but, but… I actually won a game! It was three games to one in his favour by the time we’d finished, but I’ll always remember my first victory over him.

~ ~ ~

Great things on Wikipedia #381 – On Blue Eyed Soul: “The term is a misnomer, in that the artists don’t all have blue eyes.”

~ ~ ~

Prediction: Gonzaga beats Couture, stoppage from strikes, round four. Hope: St Pierre beats Koscheck, fist clean through head, round one.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. throughsilver said, on 18 August, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    That’s interesting. I hope Koscheck decimates GSP. Not death or anything (a fist through a head would be disturbing), but a good old knock out.

    I also hope Aurelio finds some way of choking out Tarzan Guida.

  2. Russ L said, on 19 August, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Well, you know he got on my nerves good and proper last time.

    There have obviously been many times when I’ve wanted one combatant in particular to win, but this is only the second time (after the Dan Hardy vs Diego Gonzales rematch) that my emphasis has been more on wanting the other one to lose.

  3. James said, on 19 August, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Was a good game my man. Bruce came to practice on Friday for a bit, it was really good actually. I think live we’ll have more “meat”. He may POSSIBLY have an outing with us in November at the Basement again with Burnst and others.

    We might do some demo recordings over the next few months post-France and shop it to labels who could get us into a better recording place. We’ve got at least 5 songs, Festival Strength, 31 Albert Road, Sweet Mahal, Liddell Couture III, Chudley to record and plenty more to be written, so that’s good.

    We’ll do chess again in October after tour. Are you still loving your one victory? Ha ha. Good times.


Testify.

