Call me Russ L

No, Logo

Posted in Modern Living by Russ L on 17 June, 2007

It’s more or less that inevitable that I’m going to be a significant length of time behind everyone else, so you probably won’t be surprised to learn that only now am I going to be speaking on the subject of the Olympic logo.

Yup, it’s crap, but enough people have already said that. I didn’t see the ‘2012’ in it at all until someone pointed it out (I’ve never been able to figure out magic eye pictures, either. Playing ‘say what you think the splobbly images on the safety curtain are’ at The Hippodrome the other night was quite fun, though). Plenty of words have been said and re-said about its merits or lack thereof, but the thing that I find interesting is that it’s supposed to be influenced by street art. This claim has gone more or less unchallenged. It has been opposed – “Should we really be glorifying graffiti?” – by exactly the sort of people you’d expect to say that sort of thing, but the premise itself has not been challenged.

This is what baffles me the most. Ye Gods, how in the world does that look like ‘street art’? It resembles no tag I’ve ever seen. The closest thing I could probably say is that it perhaps looks like a graffiti tag as drawn by someone who’s never seen one before and only had one described to him. I am amazed that I haven’t heard more people point this out.

Testify.

