Call me Russ L

But mom, I want it nooooooow…

Posted in Modern Living by Russ L on 4 June, 2007

It appears to me that there are two types of people who feel that the rest of the world owes them something. Type ‘A’ would be the popularly reviled sorts who go on the dole for as much of their lives as possible. Type ‘B’ would be the sort of people who rant at shop assistants/bar staff/delivery people/etc because the rest of reality didn’t re-arrange itself to suit whatever they happened to want at the time.

Type ‘A’ are widely called every type of scum under the sun, but type ‘B’ appear to be referred to as ‘thrusting young go-getters’ and the like.

I can’t pretend that I find ‘B’ any the less revolting.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Baron said, on 4 June, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    I think Quentin Crisp hit the nail on the head when he proclaimed ‘Other people are a mistake’. Not everyone of course…just most people.

  2. Russ L said, on 4 June, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    I try not to think like that, I really do. If I’m not in favour of ‘People’ then I don’t know what I do carry on for.

    I’m honestly finding it hard to like them right now this minute, though.

  3. belle said, on 6 June, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    your description of Type B reminded me of a story … I was in a gift shop and a 30s – ish man was buying a photo album. Having bought it, he expected the sales staff to fill it with his pictures. He was standing at the cashdesk ostentaciously taking his snaps out one by one and slamming them on to the self stick page, saying ‘I cannot believe that I have to do this myself’ while the sales girls said ‘well, actually, it’s not a service we offer’ …. what a prat!

  4. Russ L said, on 6 June, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Spot on, exactly the type I mean.

    At least that’s a fairly inspired act of cretinism, though. The ones who get aggressive towards people that they know aren’t allowed to answer back just because they weren’t served quickly enough are mundane as well as irritating.

    (Hello Belle, by the way, and thanks for commenting).


Testify.

