Call me Russ L

Hare-Brained Schemes (in lieu of content, a few disorganised thoughts about The Hare & Hounds)

Posted in Modern Living, Music by Russ L on 15 May, 2007

(All via Created In Birmingham, which seems to have eaten the last couple of comments I’ve left) (Edit: One of them has been un-eaten, only to reveal that I’ve got the HTML all wrong. Blast.) (Editing the edit: It seems to have been corrected for me.)

Now although (from what I’m told) the recent Flapper re-launch basically appears to sum up to them having cleaned the toilets (I pity the poor soul who drew the short straw and had to advance with a lead apron and a water cannon filled with bleach), the re-opening of The Hare & Hounds in Kings Heath looks like it may present some significant changes.

I only went to seven gigs there (between September ’05 and February ’07, when I last went), but I really liked it as a venue. Pete Ashton’s article therelinked tells you all you need to know about the relick, and the matter that figuratively charges towards me waving its lance and shouting “Half a league, half a league, half a league onwards” (you think my metaphors are pain in the arse? Try living with the brain that thinks of them) is neatly summed up by our local blogging Capofamiglia when he observes that it was a place that “up and coming promoters could hire for a reasonable fee and, unlike other venues, didn’t have a house promoter taking the best nights.”

Add “other grass-roots promoters who may be ‘coming’ but have no wish of travelling to where-ever this ‘up’ may be” and you have the biggest problem here. Well… I’m not going to deny that the main problem for me is that they’ve probably (this is conjecture, but it seems likely. I really would appreciate confirmation, if anyone who goes there before me would be so kind) stopped selling tins of Carlsberg Export for £1 each from the upstairs bar. I will be quite upset about that. If I don my Right-On hat, though, this other little matter presents a pain in the arse. It started to have an effect a while ago – “the Hare and Hounds won’t do it now cause they reckon they only do bigger acts when its refurbed” said one local promoter; “The new guy reckons its a 200-seat venue so I needn’t bother with anything so lowly as ‘might get 30 people’.” (Source: 13th post down et seq.)

The number of venues that Johnny & Jilly promoter can simply go out and hire when they fancy putting on a few bands seems to be constantly depleting in Birmingham. I’m trying not to be cynical, and so I’m quite happy to admit that I’m probably jumping the gun. What we need to do is wait and see for a little while, so that we get a chance to observe what the new establishment is all about. And hope. Hope like mad.

The other thing to worry about is that the stated aim is for the place to cater for “young bohemian(s) and savvy professionals.” Ugh. That sounds even worse than your standard gig-going crowd.

Let’s wait and see. There some interesting stuff happening there soon-ish, including a variety of gigs and discos at the re-opening and bank holiday weekends, as well as a bit of metal courtesy of Capsule.

Hare & Hounds website
Hare & Hounds MySpace

***

The next post may possibly stand a slightly better chance of being worth reading. It’ll have Meatloaf in it and everything.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pete Ashton said, on 15 May, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Sorry ’bout that. System thought you were spam. I’ve correct it on this matter.

  2. bounder said, on 15 May, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    “young bohemian(s) and savvy professionals.”

    that just about sums it up. yeugh.

  3. Russ L said, on 16 May, 2007 at 6:48 am

    Ta Pete. This now means I’ve basically repeated myself between there and here, but I’m often told I repeat myself. Repeat myself, that’s certainly something they tell me I do. Yup, repeating myself, I’m told that I do it.

    Boundah – I’m with you entirely. That is one revolting description.


Testify.

