Call me Russ L

A fairly half-arsed description of a gig that was nonetheless very good

Posted in Music by Russ L on 11 May, 2007

A gig with a nice little line-up took place at The Jug Of Ale on Friday the 4th of May, a nice little line-up indeed.

Betty & The Id opened affairs, with their off-kilter bass-driven garage rock, incorporating some bubblegum pop-ish bits and some bits reminding me a tiny bit of The Stranglers (in a weird sort of way. Don’t go mad with that as a comparison, it’s not helpful in terms of their sound as a whole). They’re an unlikely looking bunch, but their set was most enjoyable – catchy songs that aren’t quite straightforward, also capable of a bit of stomping swagger when called for.

Mills & Boon and The Courtesy Group are both very hard to describe, and for the sake of retaining my own minimal dignity I should probably give up trying. I wrote about both of them here, then Mills And Boon here and The Courtesy Group here. Cobble a description together in your own mind from that little lot.

Mills And Boon normally sound very messy – I don’t mean that in anything even remotely approaching a bad way and it’s certainly not that they aren’t tight, it’s just that their music is very chaotic. Here, they actually were messy. It doesn’t hurt their sound anywhere near as much as it would some, though. Raggedness is what they do well. This was lots of fun.

The Courtesy Group seemed a tiny bit more subdued than the couple of times I’ve seen them before, but still insane. There were a few songs and between-song poems that I don’t remember having heard before now (unless that’s just me being too drunk by this point in the evening. I was quite drunk) and the singer didn’t have his customary Hawaiian shirt (unless, again, that’s just me being too drunk by this point in the evening. I was, again, quite drunk), but plenty of lunacy and great songs were still at large. I’m beginning to think “On The Rock In The Rock” (or whatever it’s called) is my favourite of theirs. Bostin’, as those of us West of the Western edge of the outer circle bus route say.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. naila said, on 15 May, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    actually it’s the guitarist who dons the hawiian type shirts…yee olde drunkard, yee! *shakes fist*

  2. Russ L said, on 15 May, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    On both of the times I saw them previous to this, the singer was wearing a Hawaiian shirt.

    Here is a photograph of the singer wearing a Hawaiian shirt.

    The guitarist may wear them too. I do not know. I do know, however, that the singer definitely does.

    I think it is thee who is the olde drunkard.


Testify.

