Call me Russ L

That’s ‘Lized’ with a ‘z’, darling

Posted in Music by Russ L on 26 April, 2007

I was off to Wolverhampton’s Wulfrun Hall on the 25th, so I was, for Spiritualized‘s (almost) acoustic set. I was quite surprised as I entered. In all of the 21 gigs I’ve been to at this particular venue, this was the first time I’ve ever seen rows of chairs deployed. Others around looked similarly bemused; some looked actively annoyed. Silly sods.

An (almost) acoustic set from The Lines started the proceedings. I wasn’t exactly overwhelmed with them when I saw them at The Varsity a few months ago, but without the air of boisterousness they had there they were outright dull. One of their songs had the line (Edit: unintentional) “I’m just sitting here, waiting for something significant to happen” (or similar). That more-or-less summed their set up.

I’m not sure whether or not I’m meant to use ‘Spiritualized Acoustic Mainline’ as the name for this particular version of Spiritualized (if the name has to be changed then I’d be happiest with a second ‘s’ instead of a ‘z’). Whichever way up, it was dragon-chasin’ Jason Pierce on lead voice and acoustic guitar, a bloke on electric piano, a four piece string section, and three gospel singers.

It was the latter who’ll give you the key to what was going on here. Religious imagery has long since been a feature of Pierce-O’s lyrics (as far as I know, anyway. I can’t pretend to be an expert in-depth fan), but this was all Jesus this and Lord that. Further evidence for this atheist’s assertion that the old adage “the devil has the best tunes” is demonstrably incorrect? Maybe so.

They made a gorgeous sound between them. It was beautiful from start to finish, although the highlight was the early/mid set one-two of “Cool Waves” and “Amen.” The encore version of “Oh Happy Day” was lovely too (and would have been a great surprise if I hadn’t earlier copped a glance at the soundman’s setlist).

I’d like to see your standard version of Spiritualized now, for comparison purposes.

Testify.

