Call me Russ L

Stage(high)lights

Posted in Stage by Russ L on 31 March, 2007

I’ve been to see quite a few plays over the last few weeks, but since A) I want to get this up to date as quick as possible and B) Despite enjoying them all I don’t have a lot to say about any of them, I’ll do a round-up post.

I went to see Gonzo Moose’s You Don’t Need To Know That at The Arena Theatre in Wolverhampton. The main thing I learned from this is that it’s very, very hard to enjoy a play when you’re sitting behind a girl with a shrill and very loud voice going “HA HA HAH HAH HA HA HAH HAH HAH HA! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA! HAR HAR HAR! HAH HAH HAH HAH HA HA HAH HAH HAH HA! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA! TEE HEE HEE HEE! HA HA HA HA HA HA! HA HA HA! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA! HA HA HA HA HA!” (am I annoying you yet? Imagine having to put up with the real life version…) all the way through, whether there’s a joke happening on stage at any given moment or not. I think the play would’ve been quite funny otherwise.

Also at the Arena, I went to see Mutton, a sketch-show type thing about Women Of A Certain Age. Very funny stuff – a mixture of both witty and likeable cringe-inducing jokes (“Lend us a Tena?”)

At The MAC I went to see The Little Mermaid, with taking The Little Olivia as an excuse. Aimed a little ‘uns, unsurprisingly, with the two hands onstage really reminding me of kids telly presenters (that’s not meant as an insult, it’s just an observation). Any outing with Livvy sees her as the main entertainment, and this time possibly the sweetest thing I have ever seen in my life happened when those onstage were swaying from side to side to simulate being on a boat and she (without realising) started to do it herself in her seat. Aaaaw!

Most recently, good ol’ David Benson performed his To Be Frank in front of a surprisingly low turn-out at The Arena. A heavily audience-interactive one, this, even by his usual standards (although was that only because there were so few people there?), and a much lighter affair than “Think No Evil” (although I suppose Frankie Howerd is a much lighter character than Kenneth Williams). As funny and affecting as ever, anyway.

So there you go.

Testify.

