Call me Russ L

Gaelic vapour depositions

Posted in Music by Russ L on 18 March, 2007

Joint-headline heavy metal package tours have the ability to outwit me with ease, it seems. Entombed did it at J.B’s last year; Celtic Frost did it at The Wulfrun Hall in Wolverhampton on the 15th of March. I was working in the evening as I do most Thursdays, and assumed I’d be alright arriving at about nine. It turned out, of course, that they’d swapped places on the bill with Kreator and were already on.

Ah well.

The funny thing about Celtic Frost is the way that they were quite innovative back in the day, at a time when lots of people thought that metal music had to be made in very specific ways or was valueless by default (there are still lots of such people now, of course. Ironically plenty of them are Celtic Frost fans), but the innovation of one year is the standard of the next and they no longer sound even in the slightest bit outré.

They’re good, though. They’re very, very silly, but it’s a style of silly that I’ve always found endearing (amongst the ‘continental metal’ stereotypes that abounded I especially liked the greasepaint that recalled a black and white version of a little girl at a fair being done up to look like a kittycat, and the struggling-with-English speeches between songs about trying to talk with the deceased). They got a hell of a lot of torque on the slow riffs, but were at their most fun during the odd moments when they thrashed away (and I don’t think I was alone in thinking that, with those bits receiving much more enthusiasm from the crowd). They had quite a few moments of “Stop chugging now, you made that point two minutes ago” and their aloof/bored air spectacularly failed to give them the dignity that (I can only assume) they were aiming for, but good fun overall. I think I expected a touch more from them, but I’m not entirely sure why. I enjoyed their set nevertheless.

Kreator took up the headline spot, a band legendary to many (one young lad appeared to be going into rapture as they began playing) but about whom I can’t honestly say I know that much. Ther-to-the-rash in an especially brutal fashion, and what sounded like they might be some memorable songs too. I left well before they’d finished (I wanted to visit the fry chicken shop without missing the bus), but definitely ended up thinking that Kreator might be a band to have a bit more of a proper look at.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. metalsteve said, on 19 March, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    yeh yeh yeh lol

    every cunt who dont like metal laughs at the cliche they claim 2 see

    wot about the cliche ov wot ever u like?

  2. Russ L said, on 19 March, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    What? You don’t just have to like them, you have to like them thiiiiis much to be safe?

    I like the good end of all sort of things (and nowt else) and tend to take the piss out of the silly cliches of all of them, anyway. I don’t see any other reasonable way of looking at music (or whatever else).


Testify.

