Call me Russ L

The name of GDFAF has been invoked

Posted in Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2007, Modern Living, Music by Russ L on 25 February, 2007

Pete did it, I did it, and so judging from the latter even an educated flea could do it. Who, however, will pick up the gauntlet for 2007 and go to a gig every night for two weeks?

The October-y/November-y sort of time that is becoming traditional is less than three quarters of a year away, and so naturally my interest grows. The specific reason I’m posting, though, is because the name of this proud custom was mentioned by Baron (and as much as I’ve wanted to various times in the past, I can’t comment on his blog ‘cos he has that annoying “blogger users only” setting). Tension builds.

A few local bloggers seem obvious choices. Dead Kendalmintcake rejected it out of hand, the rotter. ‘Er With The Shoes On ‘Er seemed quite enthusiastic. Maybe Baron himself would be interested. Or will it be a complete dark horse, perhaps not known for their regular gig-going?

I think we need to get around to appointing our champion, comrades.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Baron said, on 25 February, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Greetings Russ.

    First up I’ve changed the setting on The Hearing Aid so you can post away (I didn’t even know about the settings until now – it was all ZX Spectrums in my day). Second up (not sure whether second can be up …but then second down doesn’t make much sense…hmmmm) the GDFAF is an interesting challenge. I will mull it over. GDFAW sounds a lot more appealing but then I guess that’s a bit of a cop out.

    By the way, I’m loving the ongoing Silver Footed comments business…you’re getting to be a bit like the Gold Blend couple.

    Regards

    The Baron (or Baron to my friends)

  2. Russ L said, on 25 February, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    Ah-ha-ha-ha!

    I’m sure second can be up. I would imagine it displaces the first.

  3. Pete Ashton said, on 25 February, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    I dunno… While I obviously can’t control the beast GDFAF was created because I wasn’t going to that many gigs and needed the motivation to spead my wings. The current music blogging posse don’t need to do a GDFAF. Someone who goes to one gig a month to see their mates play does. Now, finding that someone is the tricky part.

    I’m still quite keen on having National GDFAF Fortnight where everyone is encouraged to go to see as many bands they’ve never heard of before as possible and write about them. They don’t have to do the full 14 days but they can if they want to. Meawhile us hardcore nutters can do the full stretch as an inspiration.

  4. Russ L said, on 25 February, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    True and a worthwhile point, but I’d like to make sure there is at least one full-fortnight writer of extensive waffle. In the current form I think it really is a cool tradition and one worth maintaining. It would of course be all the more interesting if it was someone new to gigs, but unless we have someone in mind…

  5. Pete Ashton said, on 27 February, 2007 at 5:38 am

    “unless we have someone in mind”

    That sounds deliciously sinister!


Testify.

