Call me Russ L

Lots Of Things To See And Do In The West Midlands: February 2007

Posted in Combat Sports, Films, LOTTSADITWM, Modern Living, Music, Stage by Russ L on 25 January, 2007

Last month may have seen a shorter version of LOTTSADITWM, but this one is a monstah. Standard disclaimers: I can’t ensure that these events will go ahead, that they’ll be good, or that I will be going to them. Please do not contact me to ask for your event to be included. That’s not the way it works.

Thursday the 1st – The Good, The Bad And The Queen @ J.B’s, Dudley – J.B’s is not the venue one would expect the new “alternative/punk/afrobeat” band featuring Damon Albarn o’ Blur and Paul Simonen o’ The Clash to be playing one of their early gigs, but there we are. Maybe there was a touch of confusion over the ‘afro’ part of the description after someone said something about J.B’s being a place for people with big hair. The important lesson here is to always be as specific as possible.

Thursday the 1st to Sunday the 4th – Flatpack Film Festival @ all over Brum – Oh yes oh yes oh yay, it’s another pie to the eye of those who say nothing interesting ever happens in Birmingham. I’m not a film fan, really, but as you can see from that link there’s an intriguing variety of stuff agwaan. I may turn up to have a look at a screen or two.

Saturday the 3rd – Capsule and The Flatpack Film Festival present “Known/Unknowns” @ The Jug Of Ale, Moseley, Birmingham – Part of the above. The whole of The Jug is being given over for this one, with a bunch of bands playing and some film-showings and such. Army Of Flying Robots may sound like generic shred-shred-graagh on record but had a much bigger feel to them when I some them some years ago, Bee Stung Lips are a great rock ‘n’ roll band featuring members of nearly every other local group who has been or ever will be, and Bela Emerson’s cello experimentations intrigue me. All that and more – it looks like most of us will be able to get our fiver’s worth out of this one.

Sunday the 4th – Bang On A Can Allstars play Eno’s “Music For Airports” and Steve Reich’s “Electric Counterpoint” @ Symphony Hall, Birmingham – Many-a chin will be stroked, I suspect. Also set to be performed are pieces by Thurston Moore, David Lang and Don Byron.

Tuesday the 6th – Regina Spektor @ The Wulfrun Hall, Wolverhampton – I’m a late convert to her cause, admittedly, but gott dayum if Regina’s “Begin To Hope” isn’t a good contender for my favourite album released last year (add usual disclaimers here). I’m really looking forward to this one.

Tuesday the 6th – Massive Attack @ The Academy, Birmingham – Sold out beyond recognition already, kidda. You’ll have to use the secret way to get into The Academy. Have I said too much?

Wednesday the 7th – Seven Seconds Of Love @ The Barfly, Digbeth, Birmingham – The First Drink Of The Day! Bah-bah-bah-da-da! The First Drink Of The Day! Bah-bah-bah-da-da! Monkeys love beer.

Thursday the 8th – Brutal Truth/Narcosis – Academy 2, Birmingham – Another one from the “Bloody hell, are they still going?” files, that there Brutal Truth. Pioneers in the field of grindcore (y’know, the noisy stuff).

Thursday the 8th – Holsten Premier League Darts – Civic Hall, Wolverhampton – “Yeah cheers” said Keith.

Friday the 9th – ‘Big Love Slam’ @ The MAC, Edgbaston, Birmingham – And lo, the organisers did wonder why people kept smirking at the title. A poetry slam/competition, anyway, with the first round on the subject of romance and from thence on about whatever the participants like. Do they have “No grabbing the mic, no insults about anyone’s babymomma” rules at these things like they do at hip-hop battles?

Saturday the 10th – Amateur MMA Fighting Championships present “The Beginning” @ Bescott Stadium, Walsall – This is definitely worth supporting if you’re an MMA fan, since there simply aren’t enough amateur shows around these parts for fighters to gain experience. The current card can be seen here. Apparently nearly sold out.

Sunday the 11th – Aerogramme @ The Bar Academy, Birmingham – A band I saw at Supersonic 2005 and vowed to check out further, before (in traditional fashion) not doing so at all in the slightest. Maybe this will be my chance. I’ve also since found out that some effort is being expended to get Mothertrucker on the bill, although that’s far from confirmed. (Edit: Mo’tro are confirmed).

Tuesday the 13th – Sonic Boom Six / The King Blues @ The Academy 2, Birmingham – Two bands I think I want to like but can’t make my mind up about. Sonic Boom Six are a rapping ska-punk band with bits of d’n’b and reggae and Lord knows what else, the likes of which there used to be a lot of on the South coast about eight or nine years ago. The King Blues are a potentially fun little two-tone-ish ska band whose singer’s fishy feigned-accent can be smelled from here. Still, though, y’know. Y’know.

Tuesday the 13th – “Animal Farm” with Gary Shelford @ The Library Theatre, Bloxwich – A one-hander version of Orwell’s joint-most-famous book. I want a ribbon.

Thursday the 15th – Boxing (PJ Promotions) @ Town Hall, Dudley – Darren ‘Macca’ McDermott in a qualifier for a crack at the British middleweight title, amongst other fights. That’s the way, more Black Country champions please. Preview here.

Saturday the 17th – This Is Seb Clarke @ The Barfly, Digbeth, Birmingham – Dexy’s-ish soul’n’roll band who sound like they’ll be loads of fun live. (Edit: TISC have pulled out. There are still some other bands on).

Saturday the 17th & Sunday the 18th – A brace of Capsule gigs @ The Jug Of Ale, Moseley, Birmingham – The thought occasionaly occurs that rather than so frequently saying “Also on the bill are Brown Sabbath, who I’ve never heard” in these things, it might be an idea to fire up the ol’ MySpace and leave their page on for a while so I can have a listen to them. Y’know, like ’Er With The Shoes does in her “Gigs next week” bit. The further thought occurs, though, that this would require more effort than I can be bothered to put in. And here’s where we end up. On the Saturday we have the Flower-Corsano Duo (dunno), Voice Of The Seven Woods (haven’t heard them but I have heard many-a good thing about their psych-folk) and Mills And Boon (great messy splattery churning jazz-rock). Sunday will see turns from Young James Long (Pass. Long Young James would have been a better name, though), Copter (don’t know but apparently they have a robot onstage. That’s me sold already) and D. Louis Baker (he’s a good lad with some great songs he plays on his piano and guitar. Also, he’s from West Brom. I approve of that).

Sunday the 18th – Shy Child @ The Medicine Bar in The Custard Factory, Digbeth, Birmingham – Energetic keyboard ‘n’ drum synthpop/dance duo, and supposedly a fantastic live act too. I’ve heard very little about them that hasn’t glowed with praise.

Sunday the 18th – Kickboxing @ Wulfrun Hall, Wolverhampton – I’ve got nothing for you other than the fact that it’s supposed to be happening. There doesn’t seem to be much information around. I’m guessing it might be a Showsport affair (Edit: Here y’go).

Wednesday the 21st – Amy Winehouse @ The Academy, Birmingham – Amy lookalikes (the latest in a 381 part series):
Amy Winehouse
Russell Brand

I joke, I joke, Because I love. And because this is one with practically infinite mileage.

Thursday the 22nd – Hugo Boss “Urban Rules” event @ Somewhere in Birmingham, I don’t know where – Featuring the second Amy Winehouse gig in the city in two days as well as Jay Sean… I’m not too sure about this one. I think the actual gig is competition winners and invitees only, so if you think you fancy it hop over that link and get registered for the compo sharpish. In addition to this, aspiring urban artistes also have a chance to upload their music onto the site and potentially get themselves into some sort of audition. I’ve no idea what it’s an audition for. This all has the feel of a big and worthwhile sort of thing and hence I’m listing it here, but I’m buggered if I know what’s actually going on and their website is toss-all help. (Edit: Looks like it’s at The Medicine Bar, but I’ve still got nothing in the way of solid info).

Friday the 23rd – Boxing (Ringside Promotions) @ Aston Villa Leisure Centre, Aston, Birmingham – Headlined by Matthew Macklin vs former Elcock opponent Vincent Baldassara. It’s looking good for the middleweights round here lately.

Saturday the 24th – Mothertrucker @ Chapter Eleven, Birmingham – Cor, I haven’t waffled on and on about baddest-arse instrumental rockers Mothertrucker in the fashion that I always used to for ages, have I? Now I mention them twice in one post. How about that. It’s like the buses.

Saturday the 24th – The Destroyers @ The Varsity, Wolverhampton – A band who may well have assumed my frequently-waffling-about mantle. Go and see them, really; you won’t regret the decision.

Saturday the 24th – Eddie Reader @ The Warwick Arts Centre, Coventry – The fact that I never seem to include much Coventry stuff in these posts isn’t policy, I assure you – I just rarely know what’s going on out over the East End Of The West Midlands. I heard on the radio the other day that Eddie Reader was once in a circus troupe. I’ve no idea if she still plays any Fairground Attraction songs, before you ask.

Saturday the 24th – Trencher / Rolo Tomassi @ The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham – Lots of gigs on this particular night, it seems. This one is your ‘noisy’ option.

Sunday the 25th – The Midlands Lhasa Apso Association Dog Show @ The Harry Mitchell Centre, Smethwick – Aaaaw! Dougal Dogs!

Monday the 26th – Boxing (Pat Cowdell) @ The Holiday Inn, Birmingham – No idea about the card or anything. I imagine it’ll be a dinner show.

Monday the 26th to Saturday the 3rd of March – “Acorn Antiques” @ The Hippodrome, Birmingham – “Apparently being spiteful and having lots of extra-marital affairs could bring back my jaundice, so I’m going to be really nice from now on.”

~ Russ L, thinking February is going to be an expensive one.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. . said, on 26 January, 2007 at 10:04 am

    dont forget tigers! and chickenhawk at chapter 11 on the 16th!

  2. Russ L said, on 26 January, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Oh really?

    I saw Tigers! twice a few years ago and didn’t find myself particularly amused, but judging by the odds ‘n’ ends I’ve heard from Chickenhawk they might be worth seeing. Hmmmm.

    Edit: A spot of research turns up this li’l sunuvva gun.

  3. Chris C said, on 26 January, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    now I like Sunshine Republic as much as the next man (maybe more), but what does Chubbtastic mean?

  4. Russ L said, on 26 January, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    No idea whatsoever. Perhaps they’re locksmiths in real life or something.

  5. throughsilver said, on 27 January, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Massive Attack are touring? Hot.

    Also, Brutal Truth originally split up in about 1998. Pretty sure this is a recent reunion deal. Whatever the case, I have to see them in Sheffield. Sounds of the Animal Kingdom is absolutely obscene. In a good way.

  6. Russ L said, on 27 January, 2007 at 9:06 am

    I think M’Attack are only doing Brum and Landan.

    I could easily be wrong.

  7. Jamestrucker said, on 29 January, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    We are now CONFIRMED with Aereogramme Russ, so are you coming? I know you might not get to see us on the 24th due to The Destroyers playing, we can get you in cheap to the 11th gig though, expect more details soon-ish.

    Also there’s a gig on 5th February at Chapter 11, with The Cape Of Good Hope, Old School Tie, The Great Eskimo Hoax and someone else. I’m going, as well may 2 other Truckers and some cohorts. Fancy it?

  8. Russ L said, on 29 January, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    I don’t agree with hoaxing eskimos. I don’t think it’s right.


Testify.

