Call me Russ L

Notes

Posted in Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 9 January, 2007

– Over the last month or so I’ve been spectacularly fed up with work, then a bit happier with it, and now back to being thoroughly fed up. This may or may not explain a lack of posting.

“Outsoles are made of enduring compounds and are a in Queer Street needle of left over shoe existence” said a spam comment I received. It simply isn’t fair that an automatic programme type thing can come up with better sentences than I can.

– Boxing sage (and occasional commenter on this very blog) Tom Podmore has written his Review Of Midlands Boxing In 2006. I’m an anal sort of arsehole and thus can’t help wanting to headbut things and mutter about apostrophes (irrespective of the many mistakes I make myself), but most people aren’t anywhere near as sad as me and will recognise this for the good and worthwhile read that it is.

Created In Birmingham has changed address. Don’t forget to update your links and such. In similar news, P’Ashton‘s Brumblog has moved onto a seperate site.

– Is the idea that some sources are more reliable than others really that difficult to accept? Surely the thought that someone who knows what they are talking about is more trustworthy than someone who makes things up to sound interesting isn’t a surprising one?

Don’t believe her. I was first.

– Bowie has turned sixty. The only tribute I’ve seen worth the bother of reading was from Betty, which isn’t 100% surprising.

~ Russ L, because I’m free nothin’s worryin’ me.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SwissToni said, on 10 January, 2007 at 8:24 am

    “Is the idea that some sources are more reliable than others really that difficult to accept? Surely the thought that someone who knows what they are talking about is more trustworthy than someone who makes things up to sound interesting isn’t a surprising one?”

    no, not surprising…. it’s just sometimes difficult (or impossible) to know which one is which with any confidence. (see how I’ve reconsidered my dogma as a result of our conversations! And I’m not taking the piss when I say that either. I suppose that actually accepting that in principle this is the case is still quite a significant shift, isn’t it?)

    I too have been fed up with work. It may be a January thing. It may just be a work thing.

    ST

  2. Russ L said, on 10 January, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Ha, I hadn’t really thought about that relating to our internet-wide debate. I was just ranting to myself about a very specific circumstance.

    Let’s resign from our jobs and go on the road as a pair of travelling disputants. The greatest show on earth!

  3. SwissToni said, on 10 January, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    Ha ! that sounds good to me!

    Although don’t we mostly now agree?

    ST

  4. Russ L said, on 11 January, 2007 at 9:54 am

    I’m sure we could think of something.

    “So, do you like… stuff?”

  5. throughsilver said, on 11 January, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    I could join the party, for guaranteed dissent. Or, to continue the theme of quoting The Simpsons:

    Homer: Oh, I’m sure I’d be a third wheel.
    Ned: Ho ho, no sir-ee, we’d be happy as heads to ha…
    Homer: [sternly] I would make it my business to be a third wheel.

  6. Laura said, on 12 January, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    cheeky sod…

  7. Russ L said, on 13 January, 2007 at 8:44 am

    I’m picturing ST and myself as Vroomfondle and Majikthise.

    So, which of Throughsilver or Laura is Deep Thought?

  8. SwissToni said, on 15 January, 2007 at 8:29 am

    what we demand is solid facts!

  9. Russ L said, on 15 January, 2007 at 9:50 am

    I am all about Rigidly Defined Areas Of Doubt And Uncertainty.

  10. throughsilver said, on 15 January, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    I’m not dorky enough for this.

  11. helen said, on 16 January, 2007 at 6:05 am

    You don’t know what you are missing Throughsilver.

    I have just had that spam


Testify.

