Call me Russ L

An interesting exchange I had today

Posted in Modern Living by Russ L on 20 December, 2006

In the Waterstones in Walsall.

I was approached by a young girl, about five years old (I suppose. I’m not good at guessing that sort of thing). “I’ve got new shoes” she announced, with all due solemnity.

“Have you?” I replied.

She beamed, and nodded her head with eagerness and enthusiasm.

“They’re very shiny,” I noted.

She returned to being solemn, and after considering this for a moment nodded her head in a very sage sort of way, as though we’d both given each other something very significant to ponder.

Then she wandered off back to her mom.

~ Russ L, thinking that there was probably a lot to be learned from this, but unsure precisely what.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SwissToni said, on 21 December, 2006 at 8:39 am

    now that’s a magic moment. Kids can be ace!

  2. helen said, on 21 December, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    You seem to be attracting them now. You proberly made her day.

  3. Russ L said, on 21 December, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    I don’t like children. On the whole.

  4. SwissToni said, on 21 December, 2006 at 9:09 pm

    … and kids can tell. That’ll be why they make a beeline to you.

  5. Russ L said, on 21 December, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    I think there’s a lot of truth in that.

  6. Scoop said, on 22 December, 2006 at 1:22 am

    I have few childhood memories of getting new clothes……but I remember every time I got new shoes from the time I was six. It was always special.


Testify.

