Call me Russ L

The end of an era. An era that lasted for a fortnight.

Posted in Blogstuff, Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2006, Music by Russ L on 12 November, 2006

(If you’ve ended up here via the ‘Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2006’ tag and are wondering what this is all about, it might be sensible to read this post first).

Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2006 is over. Fifteen days, fifteen gigs (and a stageshow type thing), comprising 43 sets by 43 acts in eleven venues (see here for blah about the specific gigs). A list of those who were better than OK-to-not-bad-ish would run thusly: Sourvein, Church Of Misery, Moorish Delta 7, The Photophonic Experiment, Chinook, Mills And Boon, The Courtesy Group, Haxan, Baroness, Bedouin Soundclash, Gogol Bordello, Enablers, Entombed, Dementia, Exodus, GBH, Rancid, Clutch, and Motorhead (with a top five comprising in reverse order of Baroness, Gogol Bordello, Clutch, The Courtesy Group and Enablers). Maybe Stanley’s Choice just about squeak in too.

Lots of good bands, then, some of whom I already liked and some of whom were new to me. Was the whole blast of silliness a success overall, though? I’m not sure. I can’t really figure out what seems like a fair set of criteria. I saw some good bands, but in all likelihood I would’ve gone to see a fair few of those anyway, and even for those I wouldn’t – seeing some good bands is just something that happens in my everyday life. Not necessarily those specific bands, but I’m sure you see what I’m saying.

There’s not really any specific reason for me to think it all went badly, but I still have a vague feeling in the back of my mind that it could have been better. I’m probably just disappointed that I didn’t end up having a nervous breakdown and thus something juicier to write about. It didn’t particularly inspire me to any great feats of writing, though, and while that was never very likely (it is me, after all) it seems a shame.

Ah well, never mind this nonsense. The big question looms before us: who is going to do it next year?

~ Russ L, fully expecting everyone in the rank to take a simultaneous step back.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris C said, on 12 November, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    well I enjoyed reading it if nothing else.

  2. Ben said, on 14 November, 2006 at 11:34 pm

    As did I. Congratulations on making it to the end, and that Motorhead finale, with your sanity intact!

    As for next year, I reckon we should both try to urge Dead Kenny into taking up the gauntlet…

  3. Russ L said, on 16 November, 2006 at 8:59 am

    Much obliged, gents.

    Perhaps we should kidnap Kendall and brainwash him.


Testify.

