Call me Russ L

GDFAF Auxilliary Activity #1: David Benson’s “Haunted Stage”

Posted in Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2006, Stage by Russ L on 1 November, 2006

A quick one for this, since I’m off out again in not-too-long a space of time to return to our standard programme of fortnightly events. P’Ashton had a night off in the original Goodfaff; since I already had long-since booked tickets to go and see David Benson at Stourbridge Town Hall/Library Theatre in the midst of this one, I decided to use that as my ‘night off.’ “He usually has songs as part of his performances,” I thought, “so there’s a bit of a link.” He didn’t this time. Naturally.

Since it was Halloween night, this time it was his ’Haunted Stage’ show, probably the least of the three I’ve seen so far but still a whole lot of fun. It switched between spooky stories and tales of his relationship with his father and grandfather (very touching – I think I heard someone crying somewhere behind me as he recounted his grandfather’s death. Or maybe it was a ghost. I don’t know.), with an excellent centrepiece in which he acted as the Brummie medium in a South London spiritualist church he once visited (spirit guide: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle).

His shows are always lots of fun. I definitely recommend going if one happens anywhere near you, wherever you are.

~ Russ L, getting back to standard Goodfaffing in a bit.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. DAVID BENSON said, on 2 November, 2006 at 11:19 am

    Thanks for the review, Russ. Glad you enjoyed it. I must admit i was a bit anxious about that show as I hadn’t performed Haunted Stage for a year (there’s been a lot of Kenneth Williams this year) and also Stourbridge Library Theatre is neither the best equipped room in the world, lighting-wise, nor the spookiest! In fact it is not spooky at all. But it seemed to go off very well, and it was the largest audience I have had for any of my shows there. Some good stories contributed by the audience too. Thanks again for writing about me.

  2. Russ L said, on 2 November, 2006 at 2:36 pm

    There you go, folks. Not just a great creater-of-stageshows, he’s also a nice & polite commenter-on-blogs.

    I’m looking forward to the Kenneth Williams one in Wolves next month.

  3. Chris C said, on 10 November, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    were there supposed to be any more GDFAF auxilliary activities?

  4. Russ L said, on 11 November, 2006 at 9:52 am

    That was the plan, yes, but it didn’t quite work out. I was going to go and see the Philip Donellan films at The Mac on the 4th during the daytime, but it just completely slipped my mind.

    Durrr.


Testify.

