Call me Russ L

GDFAF #1: Church Of Misery / Sourvein (Thursday 26/10/6)

Posted in Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2006, Music by Russ L on 27 October, 2006

And so it began. Going Deaf For A Fortnight was… well, Go.

Having finished work at eight and made the bus journeys from Walsall to Birmingham town centre and thence to Moseley, I found myself at The Jug Of Ale for a Capsule event. This isn’t the first time on this blog that I’ve mentioned my respect for and appreciation of Capsule, and it most likely won’t be the last. They put on gigs that are always at the very least worth consideration (including the fantastic annual Supersonic festival/celebration of all that is good); they help and advise other local promoters and event organisers (I know they gave a lot of help to the Moseley Folk Festival, for example); they help to promote the interests of worthwhile artists abroad (amongst other things they work with the Sonar Festival in Barcelona and South By Southwest Festival in Austin); they’re all-round good ‘uns.

None of this is to say that every single act they ever put on is great (although they do have a very good strike rate), but I was on steady ground for this gig – three bands I’d seen before and liked. Opening the partizzle were Meshuggah-ite local instrumental thrashers Nog. I arrived to find that they’d just finished playing. This was not a good start to GDFAF 2006.

Sourvein sound southern (by which I mean southern American, not southern British. By which I mean the southern states of the USA, not Latin America). I’m not sure how, though: no obvious detail of their sound gives this impression, but it persists nonetheless. The other thing you’re left thinking straight away is their sometimes-sludgy sometimes-headbangy doom metal sounds h-to-the-eavy – particularly heavy even a field where they all sound particularly heavy. Adjectives such as ‘crushing,’ normally dispensed as a matter of course, actually apply here. They could be described roughly as a collision between Weedeater and Beaten Back To Pure (if that means anything to you), and although I’m sure they wouldn’t claim to be showmen in any way there was plenty of appeal in their performance – they look like proper metal band, to begin with, and the manic bassplayer added a lot.

Headliners Church Of Misery’s singer affects a “Japanese hippy crossed with Ozzy look”, and in his dreams he clearly is the rock god of your dreams. Doom again, but this time in more of a stonery way and with a bit of a seventies feel – imagine a mix of Sabbath, Zeppelin and Orange Goblin, perhaps. Given that, it probably won’t surprise anyone to learn that they’re not afraid to jam a bit. I definitely felt (and looking around at people it l appeared that I was more-or-less the only person to think this) they went on a bit in the middle of their set, but they recovered with a great uptempo one to finish (and an encore of what I think was a St. Vitus song). Loads ‘o fun, although the band of the night for me was unquestionably Sourvein.

So, that was the first one. This whole affair is going to take a bit more settling into, I think. Tiredness and tinnitus are already advancing.

~ Russ L, off out for round two in a bit.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris C said, on 27 October, 2006 at 6:23 pm

    the fact that you missed the very first band of the whole thing is brilliant.

    the fact that you’re tired already isn’t. Keep going!

  2. Russ L said, on 28 October, 2006 at 8:44 am

    To be fair to myself, I was working till eight. I thought I’d be alright, though. Last time Church Of Misery played at The Jug I mnaged to go to The Academy (a different venue in a different part of town) and watch all of Clutch’s set (they were supporting CKY, who I’m not really interested in) before getting the bus down to Moseley, and I still saw all three bands on the bill in their entirety.

    I could probably have seen the last minute or so of Nog’s set if I’d gone straight upstairs when I arrived, but I went to the bar downstairs and bought a pint of Guinness to take up with me. I was still being served when Drunk from Mistress strode into the room and informed me that he’d just been “proper badly Nogulated.”

    I’m even tireder now, anyway. Tales of last night to follow at some point today.


Testify.

