Call me Russ L

Revelling in the wonder of literature/the natural world/lights in trees

Posted in Stage, Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 18 October, 2006

Wednesday and Friday of last week saw me head off into town for a couple of Birmingham Book Festival events. On the Wednesday Richard Dawkins gave a talk at the Library Theatre (where I’d never been before. Given the name, I assumed it was in the library somewhere. That was a silly assumption, wasn’t it? Whatever was I thinking? I eventually found the place and arrived in the nick of time), accompanied by his good lady wife Lalla Ward (I did not know that). They began by reading excerpts from his new book “The God Delusion,” before he took questions from the audience. No mad clerics (of any denomination) turned up to argue the toss, and I’m not sure whether or not I’m disappointed by that. Friday night saw Julie Walters in conversation about her life and first novel (“Maggie’s Tree”), this time done in an interview style (with some Mancunian chap, around whom she was easily able to talk rings) before questions. She really is every bit as charming and witty as you would expect, so this was a lot of fun.

In between the two, on the Thursday, it was off to Walsall Arboretum with the parentals to see the Walsall Lights. Think the Blackpool Illuminations in a park in the Midlands (and thus automatically better). Call me childish if you must, but I love my annual trip to the Walsall Lights. Me muvver took a few pictures that can be seen over here; those intrepid types from the Birmingham Flickrmeets Group took lots more (on a different night) and you can find those here.

~ Russ L, happily remembering the pretties.

(EDIT: Comments have been closed on this post because it seems to be one that attracts a disproportionate amount of spam that gets through the filter. I don’t know why that may be, but it it’s true).

Comments Off on Revelling in the wonder of literature/the natural world/lights in trees