Call me Russ L

A swirl-shaped gap? Eh?

Posted in Music by Russ L on 10 October, 2006

Off to The Venue We Don’t Like To Mention on Sunday the 8th of October, to see Lacuna Coil. To draw an obvious comparison with another lady-fronted euro-metal band I saw at The Academy (bugger, mentioned it), I was as surprised as I was when I saw Nightwish to find an Academy not only full (I didn’t expect it to be in the main Academy at all, really, never mind full), but full of young’uns. Have they been in Kerrang a lot lately? Do The Kidz still read the Kerrang? I’m out of touch. It didn’t have toooo much of that “everyone’s first gig” feel about it, fortunately, which was a blessing.

I timed it well, anyway – I wasn’t particularly fussed about seeing Devildriver, and arrived a couple of minutes before The ‘Oil started. Most of the band walked out wearing masks, and standing in front of a solid wall of equipment it suddenly all felt very Slipknot for a few minutes. That didn’t persist, but a change in tone did – their quasi-atmospheric sound on record was for the most part gone, and replaced with some serious bombast. They’re not particularly subtle to begin with, but are a lot more so than they were here.

I’m not sure it suited them. Well, no, that’s not fair at all. It wasn’t bad, but I prefer the other approach. Whether their recorded feel could actually be translated into a soulless concrete box filled with 2,000 screaming teenagers is a point to wonder, too.

I thought they were alright, though. I unsurprisingly got into it more when they played my favourite ones of theirs (like that one, or that other one. I can’t be bothered to look up the names), and a bit less when they were murdering “Enjoy The Silence” (the second unnecessary Depeche Mode cover I’ve heard in two consecutive gigs, ladies and gents).

~ Russ L, thinking that he’d have enjoyed them more if he’d been drunk, but the vow of not buying drinks in that place still stands…

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. helen said, on 10 October, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    young’uns! Russ you are sounding old now. Never mind it comes to us all.

  2. lacuna coil said, on 10 October, 2006 at 5:58 pm

    u do sound like an old man how old r u?

    they were very atmospheric and y dont u think they can sell out the academy? they r 1 of the best bands around

    y were u there if u dont think so?

  3. Chris C said, on 10 October, 2006 at 6:28 pm

    do ‘u’ think you’re providing helpful advocacy for the band you like there, ‘lacuna coil’? Or are you aware that you’re just making their fans sound like fools but decide to do it anyway?

  4. lacuna coil said, on 10 October, 2006 at 6:52 pm

    i may b young but i have an opinion

  5. throughsilver said, on 11 October, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    I feel like I’m reading the tracklisting to a Prince album…

  6. Russ L said, on 11 October, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    Yeah, I think that was what Prince called his cover of ‘My Generation’.

    No, seriously, translate his/her last statement back into English and there’s not really anything that anyone could argue with. His/her first one was more objectionable. It didn’t even accuse me of being a ‘hater’ – how half-hearted is that?

    ***

    Incidentaly, and note well ‘cos this may prove instructive – I’m not going to be deleting trolling comments that are useless but somehow quite sweet, such as the above. I will be deleting any along the lines of one I had recently (on another blog entry) wishing death on a third party the poster had never met.

    Just so we’re clear, y’get’I.

    There’s probably a happy medium where death is wished upon me. That could be fun.

  7. Christine Scabbia's Boyfriend said, on 13 October, 2006 at 11:06 am

    It seems blatant to me that you do quite like Lacuna Coil even if you arent a massive fan, but there are a few things in your review that are objectionable. I can’t see how you could have been to that gig and ended up thinking they weren’t atmospheric but then I suppose that is a matter of opinion. We can agree to disagree.

    On the other hand I can’t see why you think they changed there approach. The songs weren’t changed from the recorded versions to sound more bombastic or anything else. Any change you heard must have been a result of your obvious dislike for the venue and crowd and so it isnt fair to blame Lacuna Coil.

    Finally, complaining about screaming teenagers? If you weren’t apparently so old I’d tell you to grow up. Everyone was young once.

    Love a teenage but non-screaming and non-fool Lacuna Coil fan x

  8. Russ L said, on 14 October, 2006 at 1:14 pm

    There hasn’t been so much talk about me being Old Man Metal since those couple of gigs at Scruffs where I pulled a chair up to the front row to sit down while I watched.

    Anyway – A much better way of going about things CSB, and I thank you for it, but I still disagree on most points.

    I’m not as massively familiar with their recorded canon as I’d need to be to tell if all the songs were exactly the same as the album versions or changed at all, but that’s not the only way to create a different air. The way that you actually present yourself has just as much effect. The context probably had a lot to do with it (as you rightly point out), but I don’t see myself ‘blaming’ Lacuna Coil for that. I wrote what I thought about one particular gig that I attended. It wasn’t some appraisal of everything the band has ever done, or their worth as a whole, or any such thing.

    I suspect that failure to differentiate between the latter two concepts is the reason for people feeling the need to complain about this sort of thing a lot of the time, now I think about it.

    We were all young once, yes. Not all of us were bloody irritating in the way I alluded to above…

  9. Ben said, on 15 October, 2006 at 12:49 am

    “the vow of not buying drinks in that place still stands” – good man, keep it up!


Testify.

