Call me Russ L

Going Deaf For A Fortnight

Posted in Blogstuff, Going Deaf For A Fortnight 2006, Music, Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 1 October, 2006

Last November the unflappable Mr P. Ashton took it upon himself to go to fourteen gigs in fourteen days (alright, it ended up being fifteen days, but I don’t think you can really begrudge the man a break given what he accomplished) and wrote about them. Click on that link and go and read it. It’s very good.

Back? Okey-dokey. This year, I’m going to have a stab at it. Here are some random thoughts on the subject, in point form to save me the effort of constructing paragraphs. This laziness does not bode well for the venture.

– My version, obviously, won’t be as unique as Pete’s. It has been done before.

– I’ve selected the period between the 26th of October and the ninth of November, mainly due to the fact that I already have tickets for a gig or three during that period, and this will help to offset a bit of the massive expense of all this madness. That is fifteen days, you’ll notice; my ‘night off’ will be spent going to a David Benson stageshow on the 31st, for which (once again) tickets have already been acquired.

– The methodology will differ a bit. There won’t, for a start, be a ‘small venues only’ policy – the difference between big and small music is one I only choose to accept when it suits me – but I’m hoping to still keep it mostly consisting of proper-sized gigs. I’m not sure about definitely trying my absolute hardest to see every band, either – there’ll certainly be no leaving early, and in most circumstances I will be trying to get there in time for everyone, but I don’t really want to spend any more time than is necessary in The Academy. I’m undecided about this. People’s opinions may possibly sway me either way on the matter, should they wish to voice them. The comments box is there for you.

– To drink or not to drink? That is the question.

– I see this becoming an annual tradition, with the torch taken up by a different West Midlands blog-keeper every year. Anyone think they’d be a likely candidate for 2007? Dead Kenny, I’m looking at you.

– I’ve booked some of the time off work. That does feel like cheating, but it’s the only way I’ll manage it.

– Which gigs? I have tickets for Gogol Bordello/Bedouin Soundclash on the 2nd, Rancid on the 7th and Motorhead/Clutch on the 9th, all at the Academy (bah). The Bellrays at The Barfly on the 27th are very tempting, too. So far, so enormodome, and so a lot more smaller events are definitely needed. Capsule have Church Of Misery/Sourvein/Nog on the 26th and Torche on the 1st, and any Capsule do is worth consideration at the very least. Here’s the audience participation bit – where else should I go? Any suggestions will be accepted gratefully.

~ Russ L, urging everyone to get their thinking caps (and commenting trousers) on.

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pete Ashton said, on 1 October, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    Another difference is when I did it I didn’t really know the local scene that way so it was a way of forcing me to see acts I wouldn’t normally check out. I think the main motivation was seeing a Catapult Club flyer and have no clue whatsoever what any of the bands would be like. (Now I know what 2 or 3 or them will be like which is some progress I guess). You’re already pretty au fait with the scene, or at least part of it.

    Top tip – set up a Paypal button. It gets surprisingly costly. Don’t feel bad about it.

  2. Pete Ashton said, on 1 October, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    Oh, and get a fortnight’s worth of good food in that you can prepare easily. You ain’t gonna do much shopping!

  3. Pete Ashton said, on 1 October, 2006 at 9:31 pm

    Enablers at the Hare and Hounds on November 3rd is a no brainer.

    http://upcoming.org/event/106946/

  4. Russ L said, on 2 October, 2006 at 6:44 am

    Ooh, Enablers! I didn’t know they were a-touring. I like them a lot but happened to be miss them last time they were in town.

    I don’t think I can put a Paypal button up. I just… can’t. Anyone who sees me out and about and wants to pay for me to get in or buy me a drink or whatever-have-you is more than welcome, though…

  5. helen said, on 2 October, 2006 at 5:12 pm

    Pete, russ doesn’t shop, his poor old mom does it and cooks for him.

    poor old mom.

  6. Russ L said, on 2 October, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Bless ‘er.

  7. Chris C said, on 2 October, 2006 at 7:15 pm

    you and your crazy schemes, Russ.

    good luck with it.

  8. Russ L said, on 3 October, 2006 at 10:10 am

    It’s more Pete’s crazy scheme than mine.

    In a very real way (and going off on a bit of a tangent), it was Pete’s original GDFAF series that got me more into blogging. I had an account with Diaryland (horrific thing, don’t even bother Googling for it) that I used to very infrequently post onto, but for the most part I saw blogs as either livejournal styled teen-angst-a-thons or ranting-to-the-converted vehicles for those with a tendency to be particularly gobby about religion and/or politics. To be fair, most of the blogs I’d ever encountered fell neatly into those categories. In an odd sort of way, I think this prevented me from seeing my own as any kind of big thing (not that I see it as a ‘big thing’ now. You know what I mean).

    It all changed when a link to Pete’s blog appeared on The Klopeks’ messageboard, after he wrote about them during GDFAF. Exploring further around his blog and hopping from that onto a few others, I saw how much fun there was to be had.

    There’s a thought – The Klopeks have an annual Halloween do, and that would fall somewhere in the middle of my fortnight. I will make enquiries. It’ll probably actually be on the 31st, though, and if it is I won’t be able to go.

    It might be a nice idea to try and see some of the bands from the first GDFAF, actually.

  9. throughsilver said, on 4 October, 2006 at 6:11 pm

    Brief (though obviously incredibly profound) thoughts:

    – Go see Church and Sourvein. Should be very Doomy.

    – Don’t bother drinking. The tix will cost insane amounts as it is, and drinking is for suckers. There I said it. Apologies to any offended suckers (kidding).

    – The more you warn against it, the more inclined I am to check out Diaryland.

    – I failed in my attempt to go to one gig in September. I am ashamed. I’m sorry, sweet, sweet Imogen Heap . Sorry for not attending, and also for thinking you can’t fill LMU. You can’t, can you? ‘Hide and Seek’ is gorgeous, though.

  10. Russ L said, on 4 October, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    Here you go, if you must. It’s quite cute but beyond that nothing of interest lurks therein.

    Passers-by are always shouting “Oi, Russ L – you suck!” at me when I’m out on road. Now I know they’re merely hailing me as a fellow alcohol-appreciater. I’m being good, y’know. I was supposed to go down the drinker tonight and haven’t.

    You know that woman on X-Factor who apparently was in a car bomb when she was young? You know the way you couldn’t help but wonder if she only had that big ol’ fringe because she was hideously scarred about the forehead? That picture of Imogen heap sets off the same train of thought.

    ***

    The thought occurs, returning to the point, that some people go out practically every night and might not see going to a fortnight of gigs as a particularly big thing. I hope no-one like that reads this, because I’ll have no response to their bemusement.

  11. throughsilver said, on 4 October, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    Unscarred, as a certain singer’s belly says.

    And me not watch X-Factor, though I quite fancied it this series, on account of Simon Cowell was excellent on the last season of American Idol.

  12. Russ L said, on 4 October, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    I don’t follow.

  13. Russ L said, on 9 October, 2006 at 7:05 am

    I suppose I’ll have to carry on not following, then.

    An update: Planning isn’t going so well. The Klopeks’ Halloween do is actually on the 31st, so that’s out, but they’re also doing a fireworks one on the fifth and that’s ideal. To balance this, however, The Bellrays’ gig has been cancelled.

    Hmmm.

    Obviously I did want some spontaneity for this, but I hoped to have a rough plan in place for most of the fortnight.

    Still, there’s more than a couple of weeks yest before it all starts.

  14. Chris C said, on 9 October, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    I like the word ‘yest’ and hope to use it in conversation.

  15. Russ L said, on 10 October, 2006 at 7:39 am

    I think you should. I think more people should make my typos the basis for neologisms.

    Don’t overdo it, though. You might get a yest infection.

  16. Dave Harte said, on 17 October, 2006 at 3:08 pm

    You seem to be ideal person to fill in my survey:
    I run a project funded by the West Midlands regional development agency. We have some funding to help the region’s music venues develop. However, before we launch our fund we’d like to get some views from music fans, promoters and performers about what they think makes for a great music venue. We’ve created a short survey at: http://www.createsurvey.com/c/41339-v1h8vi/

    There’s a chance to win an ipod by completing the survey

    Cheers,

    Dave Harte – Project Manager
    dave.harte@uce.ac.uk
    http://www.myspace.com/digitalcentral

  17. Russ L said, on 17 October, 2006 at 6:57 pm

    Done.

    I did a survey myself of people’s thoughts of West Mids gig venues a while back (albeit in a very different way to that): parte the firste, parte the seconde.

  18. ian said, on 17 October, 2006 at 10:02 pm

    Little Man Tate at the Academy 2, 31 Oct?

  19. Russ L said, on 18 October, 2006 at 9:01 am

    I’m already elsewhere for that night (as above), but ta for the thought. Keep ’em coming.

  20. ian said, on 18 October, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    Oh yeah, so you are. What a muppet I am. Back to the drawing board then!

  21. Russ L said, on 19 October, 2006 at 12:26 pm

    No bother, boss. I appreciate you trying to help.

    I now have something for the 28th, courtesy (once again) of P’Ashton. I’d proclaim him to be The King Of The Internet if only it didn’t sound like more of an insult than a compliment.

  22. Matthew said, on 19 October, 2006 at 1:36 pm

    Daughters! is Coventry on the 28th Oct?

  23. Russ L said, on 19 October, 2006 at 5:58 pm

    The 28th is another one I already have a cunning plan for (as per the comment before yours). Nonetheless, I thank you for your assistance.

  24. Phil said, on 24 October, 2006 at 2:34 pm

    Come to the Sunflower Lounge on the 5th of November to see some acoustic acts including “the angriest woman in Walsall” – Kate Finch – myspace.com/katefinch

    Good luck with your two weeks – Will you ever be able to watch another band ever again when you’ve finished?!?!?!?

  25. Russ L said, on 24 October, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    “Come to the Sunflower Lounge on the 5th of November to see some acoustic acts including “the angriest woman in Walsall” – Kate Finch – myspace.com/katefinch “

    That’s quite the boast. I work in Walsall and a lot of my colleagues are very angry women indeed.

    That’s definitely a possibility, though – I’ve no idea if The Klopeks’ firework do is still happening, and (while that’s still the frontrunner if it is) between the above description and the numerous good notices she’s had on Parallax View I’d be interested to see her.

    “Good luck with your two weeks – Will you ever be able to watch another band ever again when you’ve finished?”

    This, secretly, is the plan. Spend money now to save money later.


Testify.

