Call me Russ L

A new joint-second most-seen band for me

Posted in Music by Russ L on 24 September, 2006

Out to Chapter Eleven (a pub in town that has only recently started having gigs) on Wednesday the 20th, with Boy Trigger in tow. I only vaguely knew where it was beforehand, but once we got into Brum my laser-guided pub-finding radar took us straight to it. I’m good like that.

The Arm opened. I like The Arm a lot. The very beginning of their set was spoiled by muddy sound, but after a few minutes it became absolutely crystal clear and remained so for the rest of the night. Huzzah for the sound geezer. With this blessing, their thousand-miles-per-hour and thousand-ideas-per-second maths-rock come punk/metal business was able to scratch at your eyeballs in the way it truly can. Easily able to switch between destructive, grooving and catchy whenever it suits them, this lot are definitely worth your time.

Slab are a band I have no particular problem with. As with the last time I saw them, I found their Machinehead-y straightforward metal with a few atmospheric intros and a few Tool-y rhythmic bits perfectly OK-ish, although I’m not ever going to go out of my way to see them. Trig liked them a lot more, though. He has threatened to blog about this gig himself at some point.

Mothertrucker then did as Mothertrucker tend to do. Another stonking set, and I’m running out of things to write about them. Trig was impressed: “I didn’t think I’d ever really like a band without a singer as much as that.” They’re bosting. There we are. You’re bored of hearing it, but I’m not bored of hearing them.

Bossk were the headliners, and provided me with reasons to doubt my memory. Firstly, I was afraid that I might have got them mixed up with Symmetry the last time I saw them (I hadn’t); secondly, I recall them being post-rock-ish (they aren’t). Never mind, we can easily write that one off as a result of me probably having been pished last time around. They’re much more in an Isis sort of vein, anyway – not only in sound, but also in the “Let’s have a quiet bit now. Alright, let’s have a loud bit now” sort of air, and the fact that some of their parts are repetitive far beyond the point of achieving anything in particular. Shame, ‘cos some of their parts seem like they’d otherwise be quite good. Not a bad band by any means, though.

I’m not sure if I liked Chapter Eleven or not. There should have been a Chapter Eleven chapter two last night ‘cos The Swarm were playing, but I didn’t feel very well.

~ Russ L, now wishing he’d not been such a tit and instead just brazened it out. The Swarm are bosting, y’see.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. throughsilver said, on 26 September, 2006 at 1:12 am

    Hmm. Not really related, but yer comment has vanished. I published it, but it’s not there. It’d be swell if you could repost – I have the text in a Blogger email if you want.

    And weirdness on the non-members posting thing; I don’t recall allowing that. Suppose it would explain ‘Anonymous’ dissing the DJ Shadow album the other day…

    OK, on topic. Slab, eh? Not enough bands sound like Machine Head these days. Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. Anyway, I listened to ‘Ten Ton Hammer’ today, and liked it a lot. Memories.

    Like the corners of my mind.

  2. Russ L said, on 26 September, 2006 at 6:40 am

    I can see the comment I left on your blog when I go to it. Curiouser and curiouser.

    I’m not really that much of a Machinehead fan. I did like them when I was younger, though. Ah, misty water-colour memories.

    “The Way We Were” is a better song than anything they’ve ever done. I am a Gladys fan.

  3. Russ L said, on 26 September, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    I should note that ThroughSylvaaarrrrgh posted a reply involving Rob Flynn and Neurosis-branded-clothing, but for whatever reason it appeared twice and for a very specific reason (i.e. the fact that I sometimes get a bit excitable with the ol’ mouse clicking) I accidentaly deleted both of them.

    It may well be fate getting him back for using the term ‘plz’, though. I don’t know.

  4. throughsilver said, on 27 September, 2006 at 3:00 am

    In short, he liked mi hooded top (before they were called ‘hoodies’), and we bonded. For about a second.

    Also, ‘Desire To Fire’ is better than ‘The Way We Were’.

  5. Russ L said, on 27 September, 2006 at 6:28 am

    Now you’re just being silly.

  6. throughsilver said, on 27 September, 2006 at 12:52 pm

    It’s all about the kick-in, my man…

    Also, I see you listened to Lorraine Ellison’s exquisite ‘Stay With Me’ recently. I did too!

    Now that is better than any Machine Head song.

  7. Chris C said, on 27 September, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    taking all of the bands mentioned in this sequence:

    I don’t know Slab, The Swarm or Lorraine Ellison.

    I don’t know The Arm but they sound good. I’ll try the website in a minute.

    I’m not into Gladys Knight but fair play if you like her.

    Machine Head are OK.

    I love Bossk and Mothertrucker.

    I really love Neurosis.

    is that everyone?

  8. Russ L said, on 28 September, 2006 at 7:28 am

    ThrimSyylvia – “Stay With Me” is an amazing song in many ways. I don’t know if I’d call it ‘exquisite’ though. That seems like too delicate, too fine-featured a word to describe such over-the-top (and I mean that in a glorious, glorious way) howling-at-the-moon soul.

    I love it, whichever way up.

    Chris C – what did you think of The Arm then, eh? Another corking band from the county that gave you Black Sabbath.

  9. throughsilver said, on 28 September, 2006 at 12:07 pm

    I’d definitely call it exquisite (well, I did). Sure, it’s the opposite of ‘delicate’, but it has beauty in spades. Just when you think she should lose control of her voice, it never happens.

    And I’m not a fan of this gradual move to synonymise me with Big Dim…

  10. Russ L said, on 28 September, 2006 at 12:18 pm

    I bet Tim Sylvia is a Machinehead fan.

  11. Chris C said, on 2 October, 2006 at 7:11 pm

    well impressed with The Arm, Russ. In spite of the way you’d described them I was expecting another band in the Isis/Pelican mode, and so the surprise made them sound all the sweeter.


Testify.

