Call me Russ L

U SHOULD KEEP UR OPINION TO URSELF or whatever it is they all say

Posted in Blogstuff, Modern Living, Music by Russ L on 12 September, 2006

Amusingly or disappointingly, I find myself looked upon as one of those people who complains about reviews he disagrees with after initially posting because I genuinely thought he’d mixed up one band with another, and thereafter making the mistake of attempting a splash of humour (which didn’t work, admittedly, but the fact that I was playing about nonetheless seems screamingly obvious).

The lad’s blog is very good, though. You should read it.

~ Russ L, who had to be restrained from a comic citation of “You have no right to judge if you’re not in a band yourself” when the implications became clear.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris C said, on 12 September, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    a bit defensive on his part, methinks, but he doesn’t seem to mean a lot of harm. I think it’s more the two of you talking at cross purposes than anything.

  2. Russ L said, on 12 September, 2006 at 6:41 pm

    Oh of course, yes. No harm done or any such thing, it’s just a bit of banter.

    Do I know you, Chris C?

  3. Chris C said, on 13 September, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    no mate. I just landed here when searching for reviews of upcdownc. I’ll keep checking this blog though, I like it.

  4. Dead Kenny said, on 13 September, 2006 at 8:12 pm

    No offence meant or taken, Russ.

    It’s possibly true I was being a tad defensive, Chris, on the account of being found out bluffing my way through emo sub-genres. Maybe the Daily Mail will gizzus a job?

  5. Russ L said, on 14 September, 2006 at 8:33 am

    Chris C – Hey, you’re alright.

    Dead Kendall – Ska-core is not an emo sub-genre. I will tell han hamusing hanecdote about all this genre-naming lark if we carry on like this.

    Non-concerned passing reader – We are now Bringing The Puns over on the comments below the above-linked post! And it’s ace!

  6. throughsilver said, on 15 September, 2006 at 2:26 am

    Poor lad’s got me posting there now…

  7. Russ L said, on 15 September, 2006 at 7:25 am

    Lev have mercy.

  8. Chris C said, on 21 September, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    (H)are we not going to hear han hamusing hanecdote?

  9. Russ L said, on 22 September, 2006 at 7:51 am

    Well, the conversation petered out, presumably due to everyone’s fear of being smoten by the power of my anecdote.

    I’ve told this elsewhere on the internet before (and numerous times in real life, for that matter), but I like it so nuts to you all.

    Some years ago (and we are talking a fair few) the band Dog Eat Dog were big. Remember them? ‘No Fronts’ and all of that malarkey? I was sat on a bus in front of two teenage lads, and – naturally – eavesdropping, in the absence of anything better to do.

    They were talking about how the band Dog Eat Dog should be classified, and what genre name should be used to describe them. As so oftens when matters of taxonomy come up, tempers were beginning to fray. They were getting quite annoyed with each other.

    “They’re rock-rap!” insisted one.

    “They’re not, you dickhead!” protested the other, forcefully.

    What was his alternative suggestion?

    “They’re rap-rock!”

    ***

    There’s probably a moral to this story, but I’m buggered if I can figure out what it is.


Testify.

