Call me Russ L

S’warm at this time of year.

Posted in Music by Russ L on 8 June, 2006

I mosied on over to The Planet in Wolverhampton on Friday the 2nd of June for only the second time ever, to see The Swarm. Them going on first (the promoter informed me that she would have liked to have them higher on the bill but knew they wouldn’t be too popular amongst the likely audience. Curse you, world!) and me working till eight o’clock and then needing to get the bus from Walsall to Wolves wasn’t the greatest match in the world, but although they were already on when I arrived (about five to nine, fact fans) I don’t think I missed too much of their set.

What a set it was, too. I adore their album, and (even though it was a bit of a shame to see some of their number sporting MySpace style fringes) they didn’t disappoint live. Their on-record Birthday Party/Jesus Lizard teeth-grit-a-thon seemed bolstered by a throbbing, pulsing industrial sort of element, but wasn’t any the less scary. The anguished creepy-crawly horror of ‘Shacked Up With The Flies’ sounded evil, and the closing ‘The Last Friend Left Alive’ sounded absolutely explosive with its enormous blues-rock riff.

I realised I wasn’t really in the mood for the rest of it after their set had finished. I decided that I’d leave if the next band on hadn’t provided me with sufficient reason to stay by the time I’d bought and drunk a pint. Come said time they weren’t even onstage yet, so off I toddled.

~ Russ L

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ben said, on 10 June, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    The Swarm sound like my cup of tea – will have to check them out.

  2. Russ L said, on 10 June, 2006 at 1:42 pm

    They’re a stonking band, to be sure.

    There’s a TheirSpace, if that helps.


Testify.

