Call me Russ L

O Fortuna, Velut Luna

Posted in Music, Stage by Russ L on 5 June, 2006

After a face-stuffing feed at The Big Wok (there have been a few restaurant trips later, but I don’t think I’m going to write about them. I don’t have a lot of detail to relay. Not that I usually let that factor get in my way, but still…) on Tuesday the 31st of May it was to the Hippodrome to see ‘Andalusian Images Of Carmina Burana,’ as arranged and choreographed by Salvador Tavora. It wasn’t at all what I expected – I’d assumed what we were going to see the choral work Carmina Burana with a bit of Spanish dancing around it. Instead, this production was a full-on Flamenco affair that happened to include a few recorded excepts from Carmina Burana piped in.

A bit different for me, then. I’ve never really ‘got’ dance as an artform (I recognise that this is far more my fault than it is that of interpretive dance), but I’ll try anything twice and I really enjoyed this. There was something approaching a plot if you squinted and thought laterally, but it was far more effective as a series of spectacles. Naurally, the bursts of Orff’s cantata were stirring (Oh, O Fortuna – ooooohhhh…), but the star of the show without a doubt was the lead Flamenco dancer Lalo Tejada. She was absolutely magnetic, and not just because she was gorgeous – her dancing managed to convey a great sense of dramatic interpretation to me (rare, as I’ve noted above) and she was so physically charismatic. Her dance around and over the lowered cross was breathtaking.

AAAAND – horses! How often do you get to see a couple of horses onstage? It’s not something I encounter very often, and that’s a shame. Two great big gorgeous pure white Andalusian stallions were employed – one of them couldn’t stop dribbling around its bit, bless it, but that just made it seem more endearing.

Not something I’d normally have gone to see, but an enjoyable and wonderful experience.

~ Russ L

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. helen said, on 7 June, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    I liked the male dancers, nice bums, not to bad faces either.


Testify.

