Call me Russ L

Intergalactic Planetary

Posted in Music by Russ L on 17 May, 2006

On Friday the 12th I went, for the first time, to The Planet in Wolverhampton. My old homefondueset Matt (who joined me) described it well by pointing out that the experience was somewhere between feeling like you’re in J.B.’s in Dudley (typical ‘rock club’) and expecting Peter Kaye to roll out in a wheelchair.

Una Corda (who are familiar to readers of this blog by now, I would imagine) were on first, and – hurrah! – it was one of the times I liked them. That’s understating it, actually, as they were bloody amazing this time, rivalling their fantastic set at the Med Bar in December. The build-up in that song that I don’t know the name of but I know quite well now ‘cos I’ve seen them six times (and… breathe) literally (literally) had me biting my lower lip waiting for it to let go. Superb. I have a theory, actually – of the six times I’ve seen them, I’ve found them to be OK/quite good/OK/brilliant/OK/brilliant. It seems that I find them to be better every other time I see them. Supporting this is the fact that my old homekettle Matt has seen the three times and found them great/OK/great. The theory holds water! Empiricism~!

Hands Of Hate from Cannock were on second, playing that type of metalcore that’s halfway between what a sensible person would call metalcore and what some silly people these days are calling metalcore. Imagine (say) Decimate with a lot more sung choruses and a few blastier bits. Perfectly OK-ish with some fun riffs here and there, but I wouldn’t go out of my way for them. In the name of silly little aesthetic objections, though, I couldn’t not say that firstly slip-on bowling shoes aren’t really very hardcore (or anything else anyone might be trying to be), and secondly I’m not sure what the point is of the guitarist having one of those cordless guitars if he’s not going to move about.

After that we had Mothertrucker (it has been established that this is the official spelling, and not ‘Mother Trucker’), also probably familiar to readers of this site by now. Mo’Tro were sounding absolutely balls-out rock-to-the-roll at this gig. I later found out that drum-commissar Jimmy The Gloves was playing faster for very specific reasons, but it really had a strong effect on the sound and made for a bit of a nice change. I wouldn’t want a Noisytrucker set from them every single time, but as a now-and-again thing it strikes me as pretty rocking.

Tundra were the headliners, but time was already cracking on pretty late and so we left. I’m sure they were super.

~ Russ L

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. James said, on 18 May, 2006 at 6:38 pm

    Ha ha ha another great read my lad. Thanks buddy.


Testify.

