Call me Russ L

Feeding Frenzy

Posted in Blogstuff by Russ L on 21 April, 2006

I don’t really have the natural affinity with computers that some folk have, and as such a fair few concepts that are simple to said same folk require a bit of extra effort from me if I’m to comprehend them. I’m dimly aware of what an RSS feed is, but only dimly. I’ve gathered that it’s something you can use to have updates to websites displayed directly to you and thus remove the onerous task of having to actually look at them. It does sound quite useful (if a touch lazy) and I always intended to investigate it in more detail at some point, but hadn’t got around to it yet.

Imagine my surprise, then, to find that this very blog has a feed. WordPress have added a screen displaying the stats for it to the admin section that I get to look at because I am lord of all I survey and the rest of you don’t because you’re merely visitors here on sufferance. Apparently, I have a feed; furthermore, a (very) small number of people are actually reading it.

If you’re one of these people – you will tell me if I ever need to actually do anything, won’t you? I really have no idea. Simplest language possible, please. Thanks in advance.

~ Russ L

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pete Ashton said, on 21 April, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    I’m reading via your feed and it’s all fine and dandy.

    Feeds are dead useful if you read 100+ blogs, as I do. Bookmarks are just so 2001.

  2. Russ L said, on 21 April, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    I’m somewhere around 1996 in that case, then. I just click on the links I’ve set up on here to get to the ones I read.

    Ta, anyway.

  3. throughsilver said, on 12 May, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    I don’t know what year I’d be in, then. I’m just getting used to the fact that my monitor isn’t green writing on a black background.

  4. Russ L said, on 12 May, 2006 at 5:05 pm

    Your monitor isn’t just green writing on a black background?

    What manner of thing is this, sorcerer?


Testify.

