Call me Russ L

Naturally Centred

Posted in Well, it passes the time by Russ L on 8 April, 2006

I went to Birmingham Nature Centre this morning, for the first time in a good many years. It was nice, I’d definitely recommend it. It was a lot smaller than I remembered (I was little when I last went), but for an astonishingly reasonable £1.70 entrance fee it’s definitely value for money.

Naturally, I end up inspiring confusion and hatred wherever I go, and my unintentional duties were discharged as well as ever here. The former came with the lady at the counter being a bit taken aback to find I was on my own. “One please,” I said, presenting her with a shiny two pound coin. “What, erm… erm, no children?” was her hesitant response. Single twentysomethings like animals too!

The fallow deer brought the hatred. I don’t think they liked me at all. The male deer was sitting outside their little house and began to glare at me. The doe came outside to join in, their malevolence-dripping gazes following me as I walked around the outside of the enclosure. After disappearing out of their sight I wandered back, to see if they’d relaxed at all. They had, but quickly tensed up and started giving me the evil eye again. I was almost tempted to play a Homer Simpson style “Mental note – don’t overdo this” and jump back and forth, in and out of sight, but decided it would be cruel.

None of the other animals seemed to mind my presence, at least. I myself was especially happy that I got to see escapologist, adventurer and local hero Babu The Red Panda (voted Brummie Of The Year 2006 by myself and others at Birmingham: It’s Not Shit), as well as his Red Panda-ish associate whose name I don’t know.

~ Russ L

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rach said, on 10 April, 2006 at 12:30 am

    Animals not liking us runs in the family. A bear tried to attack me at the safari park. Well he did stare at me through the car window menacingly!

    xxxxx

  2. Russ L said, on 10 April, 2006 at 7:21 am

    Yes, I heard.

    And laughed.

  3. Maxine said, on 13 April, 2006 at 2:13 pm

    I went there with Jack and my friend, Claire! I loved it. Especially the guinea pigs and goats!

  4. Russ L said, on 13 April, 2006 at 2:34 pm

    I think one of the goats had recently fallen in that little stream when I went.

    It looked a bit soggy, anyway.


Testify.

