Call me Russ L

Mog and Meg

Posted in Music by Russ L on 1 April, 2006

I have been a bit lazy with gigs lately, I really have. I was originally going to go and see The Big Bang at The Flapper on Thursday and didn’t. I was originally going to go and see Grandscope there tonight, but probably won’t. Between these, though, I did manage to get to Wolves’ Wulfrun Hall to see Mogwai, although probably mainly because I’d already bought a ticket. If I hadn’t I would have at the very least been tempted with Neville Staple supporting The Beat at the Academy 2, given how great he was the previous Sunday, but probably wouldn’t have gone anywhere.

Over to The Wulfrun it was with me, then, albeit in a slightly disgruntled mood about nothing in particular. Best foot forward and so on. This is why it’s good for me to buy tickets – it actually makes me do things when I’ve got one on me.

I arrived in time to see the last song by The Magnificents. High energy synth-rock stuff, with some Scots ranting over the top in that film-version-of-Trainspotting sort of way that the Scots do so well. I quite liked it, although I was informed later that the rest of the set was nowhere near as interesting. What do other people know though, eh?

Mogwai were storming. It’s a bit mad that I’ve never seen them before, really, but I’m glad to have rectified that. Their impact has been diluted a bit by the fact that there are absolutely loads of bands who sound like them these days, but they weren’t half great live. I think their strength is largely in their good-allrounder-iness – a lot of the post-rock bands knocking about the place seem to do either their quiet bits or their loud bits well, but Mogwai have it all down perfectly. Their gentle touch is very pretty, but they shift up a gear they still manage to sound not only like the metaphorical ice-pick being stabbed into your spine, but also like it’s being waggled about a bit when it’s in there.

Which is good, obviously.

They had flashy lights behind them, arranged into ‘Y’ shapes. Have the youth dem started referring to the band as ‘mogY’ in their text messages, perhaps?

~ Russ L

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ben said, on 2 April, 2006 at 3:42 pm

    Off to see the mighty ‘Gwai (as no-one refers to them) tonight. A fearsome live act when on form, ’tis true – glad you’ve rectified the not-having-seen-them-live-before situation.

  2. Russ L said, on 2 April, 2006 at 4:46 pm

    I too always half-assumed I was the only person to think of them as “The ‘Gwai,” but no – I heard the term from from the (grinning) mouth of another at this very gig.


Testify.

